If You are Arrested for Drunk Driving in New Jersey Call an Experienced NJ DWI Lawyer
New Jersey law enforcement officers, including local police officers and State Troopers, have a goal of preventing drunk driving in New Jersey during the last days of summer. The New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety is utilizing the Drunk Driving- Over the Limit, Under Arrest and the Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over campaigns. From August 19 through September 5 many local and state law enforcement officers will be conducting field sobriety checkpoints. The U.S. Supreme Court in 1990 (Michigan v. Sitz) upheld the constitutionality of sobriety checkpoints. The Court held that the interest in reducing alcohol-impaired driving was sufficient to justify the brief intrusion of a sobriety checkpoint. If conducted properly, sobriety checkpoints do not constitute illegal search and seizure in most states. Click here for further information of sobriety checkpoints.
Penalties for a first offense DWI in New Jersey can include loss of your driver's license from 7 months to 1 year, a fine of up to $500.00, 12 to 48 hours of detainment and/or counseling as prescribed by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, up to 30 days in jail, mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device, and other fines and penalties. An experienced New Jersey DWI criminal defense attorney may uncover possible defenses to your case to minimize the penalties you are facing.
Due to the fact that no New Jersey DWI, New Jersey DUI, or New Jersey refusal case has the same set of facts, an experienced New Jersey DWI attorney, will take the time to discuss and review with you:
- The circumstances that permitted the stop;
- The tests the police conducted to determine if you were intoxicated;
- The specific results of the breathalyzer, Alcotest®, or blood test that the State will use against you;
- The adherence by the police to the strict procedures necessary to sustain a valid blood alcohol content (BAC) reading;
- The possible fines and penalties you may be sentenced to if convicted of a New Jersey DWI, DUI, or refusal;
- The possible suspension of your New Jersey or other state's driver's license;
- The possible installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle;
- The possibility of being sentenced to jail;
- The determination of whether the use of expert witnesses would be a benefit in defending your case;
- The review of all possible defenses and mitigating factors to obtain the best result
If Caught Driving Drunk, Call Villani & DeLuca Today!
If you have been charged with a DWI, DUI, or Refusal in New Jersey, contact experienced New Jersey drunk driving criminal defense attorney, Carmine R. Villani, Esq. of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. for a free initial consultation. Located in Point Pleasant Beach, Mr. Villani frequently appears in the municipal courts of Monmouth County and the municipal courts of Ocean County defending clients charged with drunk driving. Mr. Villani is one of less than 50 New Jersey DWI attorneys trained by the manufacturer (Draeger Safety Diagnostics) to operate the Alcotest 7110 MKIII-C breath testing device which is used to determine the blood alcohol content (BAC) of suspected motorists in New Jersey. Call (732) 709-7757 today!