Receiving a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charge qualifies as a Motor Vehicle infraction in New Jersey. These drinking and driving or DWI charges are deemed to be among the most severe motor vehicle violations in New Jersey. A driver facing a third offense of DWI in New Jersey within ten years will face fines, imprisonment and a ten-year license suspension (among other penalties).
If you or a loved one has been arrested or charged with a third or subsequent DUI, DWI, or Breathalyzer Refusal in Monmouth County or Ocean County New Jersey, contact the third DWI offense lawyers at Villani & DeLuca P.C. for your complimentary initial consultation at (732) 709-7757.
Carmine R. Villani, Esq., founding partner of Villani & DeLuca, P.C., is a former Municipal Prosecutor and has practice in both the prosecution and defense of DWI, DUI and refusal charges in NJ. Mr. Villani is one of a select group of New Jersey DWI Attorneys trained on both the Alcotest® Breathalyzer, currently utilized in New Jersey, as well as the formerly used Breathalyzer. When you need a third offense DWI lawyer in New Jersey, act quickly in order to secure the right representation to protect yourself and your rights in court. We will work hard on your behalf to dismiss or reduce the charges you are facing and enable you to receive the optimal settlement for your charges.
Penalties for Third or Subsequent Driving While Intoxicated Offense: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
Drivers charged with a third or subsequent DWI offense in New Jersey will face severe penalties. Individuals found guilty within 10 years of the second offense or DWI Refusal incur the above penalties as set forth above for “repeat offenders” as well as:
- Fine of $1,000
- Imprisonment of 180 days
- 10-year license suspension
- Detainment in an in-patient alcoholism treatment program
- Fees to be paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center dependent upon court sentence
- Automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for 3 years
- Ignition interlock device installation for a period of 1 year to 3 years after license restoration
New Jersey Third Offense Driving While Intoxicated Law Firm
If you have been charged with a third DWI charge, you are facing very serious consequences under New Jersey law. Do not make the mistake of thinking you don't have a defense; having an attorney that can properly investigate your case is crucial. Since 1996, the lawyers of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. have represented individuals and 1st, 2nd and 3rd offense DWI cases throughout Monmouth County and Ocean County, New Jersey. Contact us for a consultation about your third DWI charge. A NJ 3rd offense DWI Lawyer at Villani & DeLuca can be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at (732) 709-7757.