NJ Statutes > NJ Drug Crimes Laws > 2C:35-24
Defending NJ 2C:35-24. Possession of certain prescription drugs.
After you read the following NJ Criminal Statute (Possession of certain prescription drugs) you may decide that you need the help of a lawyer, or need a legal interpretation of how this statute applies to your case. The firm of Villani & DeLuca has experienced criminal lawyers with over 20 years of experience, including a former municipal prosecutor. Call the number above for a free 24×7 phone consultation.
Summary of Possession of Certain Prescription Drugs
Have you ever transferred your prescribed medication into another bottle because you did not want to take your entire medication along? Did you know that New Jersey law states that a person in possession of a prescription drug (that was lawfully prescribed) may only have it in its original container? Because most prescription drugs are considered controlled substances, you need a valid prescription if you are found in possession of the medication. If this is violated, it is considered a disorderly persons offense. However, if you possess less than a 10-day supply not in the original container, a policeman may request information regarding the name and address of the practitioner who prescribed the medication, along with the pharmacist who dispensed it. If you have been charged with possession of a controlled substance, a drug given through a valid prescription, Villani & Deluca, defense lawyers in Ocean and Monmouth Counties, are here to discuss your possession of prescription drug charges.
What the State Needs to Prove
The State will find you in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-24 if you are found with a prescription drug that is not in its original container. Also, if you have less than a 10-day supply of a prescribed drug (not in its original container), you must give the name of the doctor who prescribed it and/or the pharmacist who dispensed it.
Possible Defense for Possession of Certain Prescription Drugs
Having a valid legal prescription for the medication you are possessing is one defense. Your best defense is to contact one of our experienced lawyers at Villani & DeLuca to discuss your charges. We have over twenty years experience representing individuals in Ocean County and Monmouth County. Don't take a chance with your future, make the call today!
Penalties for a Prescription Drug Possession Conviction
It is considered a disorderly persons offense if an individual is found guilty of possession of prescription drugs. An individual with a disorderly persons charge may be eligible for a conditional discharge which may have the charge removed from his/her record if successfully completed. However, crimes regarding prescription drug possession vary with the type and quantity of the drug possessed in New Jersey. This may result in a permanent criminal charge on your record, up to a $1,000 fine, and up to six months in the county jail if convicted. That is why it is imperative to contact an attorney at Villani & DeLuca at (732) 709-7757 and schedule a free initial consultation. We know your rights and have defended clients in the Ocean and Monmouth County areas for more than twenty years.
NJ Statute: 2C:35-24. Possession of certain prescription drugs.
A person who possesses a controlled dangerous substance that was prescribed or dispensed lawfully may possess it only in the container in which it was dispensed; except that the person may possess no more than a 10-day supply in other than the original container if the person produces, upon the request of a law enforcement officer, the name and address of the practitioner who prescribed the substance or the pharmacist who dispensed it. A person who violates this section is a disorderly person.
AKA: NJ Criminal Charge 2C:35-24, Violation 2C:35-24, Offense 2C:35-24
Next > 2C:35-25. Sale restrictions for ephedrine products.
Disclaimer: A copy of this statute has been provided for your information. This wording was current from the NJ website lis.njleg.state.nj.us as of August 2012.