Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a Motor Vehicle violation in the State of New Jersey. Also known as “drunk driving”, DWI charges are considered to be one of the most serious motor vehicle violations in the state. A second driving while intoxicated offense within 10 years can result in serious penalties, including mandatory jail time, driver's license revocations, community service and fines.
If you or a loved one has been pulled over on suspicion of your second DUI offense in Monmouth County or Ocean County, New Jersey and refused to submit to chemical testing or failed to pass an intoxication test because your blood or breath alcohol level was over .08, it is essential to immediately contact one of our experienced 2nd Offense DWI attorneys at Villani & DeLuca P.C.
Carmine R. Villani, Esq., founding partner of Villani & DeLuca, P.C., is a former Municipal Prosecutor and has experience in both the prosecution and defense of DWI, DUI and refusal charges in New Jersey. Mr. Villani is one of a small number of NJ DWI Lawyers trained on both the Alcotest® Breathalyzer, currently used in New Jersey, as well as the Breathalyzer previously used. When you need a second offense DWI lawyer in Monmouth County or Ocean County, New Jersey, you can't afford to waste time before seeking representation to defend yourself and your rights in court. We will make every effort to fight the allegations against you and help you achieve the best possible outcome in your particular situation.
Know the New Jersey Second Offense DWI Laws
Second Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Offense: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
Drivers facing a 2nd Offense DWI Lawyer in NJ will face enhanced penalties if convicted. A New Jersey court may consider a prior DWI conviction that occurred less than 10 years before the second conviction. Second violations occurring more than 10 years after a first violation can be treated as the offender's first violation. The penalties for a second DWI offense are very severe.
Penalties for a Second DWI Offense
- Fine of $500-$1,000
- Imprisonment of at least 48 consecutive hours, up to 90 days
- Up to 48 consecutive hours detainment in a regional Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- Automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
- License suspension 1 to 2 years
- Ignition interlock device installation for a period of 2 to 4 years after license restoration
New Jersey Second Offense Driving While Intoxicated Law Firm
Because of the serious nature of this crime, penalties can be severe for a second drinking and driving offense throughout Monmouth County and Ocean County, New Jersey but there are many ways for an experienced criminal defense lawyer to challenge these charges. Contact the 2nd DWI offense lawyers of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. for a consolation about your second DWI charge. The attorneys at Villani & DeLuca can be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at (732) 709-7757.