Shoplifting Suspect Arrested in Pt Pleasant

At the beginning of June, Point Pleasant Beach police reached out to the public via their Facebook page for help identifying two shoplifting suspects that had been recently caught on camera at two downtown stores. The two female suspects were seen together at Turquoise and Stella E Luna. Both of these stores had surveillance footage showing the women engaging in theft.

Security camera isolated on white background

Based on what the police posted through Facebook, the suspects were identified and then both arrested.

Shoplifting Charges in New Jersey

Shoplifting is covered by N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11. Not only does this section cover different shoplifting scenarios in detail, but it also provides a gradation for this crime. In extreme cases that involve over $75,000 in merchandise being stolen, shoplifting is classified as a second degree offense. For any shoplifting incident involving over $500 in merchandise, the third degree crime. It’s a fourth degree crime for incidents between $200-500, and a disorderly persons offense if under that amount.

A common misconception about shoplifting is that it is taken far less seriously than other crimes like theft. But under New Jersey law, the penalties for this crime can be quite significant. That’s true even if an individual is arrested for shoplifting an amount under $200 and charged with a disorderly persons offense.

A disorderly persons charge can carry a fine of up to $1,000. While someone with no prior record will have a presumption of non-incarceration, an individual with any previous charges can face up to six months in county jail.

With shoplifting incidents involving higher amounts, the charge increases to a fourth, third or second degree crime. A fourth degree crime can result in a prison sentence up to 18 months. The penalty for a third degree conviction in New Jersey is a prison sentence between 3 and 5 years and a fine up to $15,000. For second degree crimes, a NJ court can impose a prison sentence between 5 and 10 years and a fine up to $150,000.

When to Speak with a NJ Shoplifting Lawyer

Despite the common misconception that shoplifting is a minor offense, it can be a very serious charge. Fines, court ordered victim restitution, jail or prison time, community service, probation and the possible loss of your driver’s license are all penalties that can accompany this offense.

A conviction can affect your employment. For example, a current or future teacher convicted of second or third degree shoplifting will be barred from employment with any NJ public school system.

Given the serious nature of shoplifting charges, it’s important to have experienced legal representation. If you’re facing this type of charge, you can discuss your case with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney at Villani & DeLuca, P.C. Call us today at 888-389-9533 for a free consultation.

home-publications