Safety Violations and Workers’ Compensation

If your employer has created an unsafe work environment, these violations of safety measures could lead to personal injury and disability. New Jersey workers’ compensation provides support for medical treatments, wage loss and disability compensation to workers who have suffered a temporary or permanent disability as a result of a workplace injury. But the process can be complicated.

Safety Violations and Workers' Compensation

Filing for Workers’ Compensation in New Jersey

The process of filing for workers’ compensation can be complicated. The employee will have to notify the employer about an injury. The employer then has 30 days to report to the company’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier who will then complete a First Report of Injury form and submit it to the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Workers’ Compensation for approval or denial.

New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Law (N.J.S.A. 34:15-1)

An employee or their dependents can receive workers’ compensation benefits in New Jersey for an injury or death arising out of and in the course of employment. The employer or their insurance carrier pays for necessary and reasonable medical treatment, loss of wages during the period of rehabilitation and when documented, benefits for permanent disability.

Your First Step

The moment you are injured or disabled on the job, it’s up to you to protect your (and your family’s) future. Consulting with an experienced personal injury and workers compensation law firm in NJ is your first step. Failing to report an accident can lead to several problems such as the denial of your medical treatment and out-of-work benefits. Many employers have a strict internal deadline for reporting accidents – some within 24 hours of an incident, for example.

New Jersey Employer Fined, Receives 14 Safety Violations

Recently in the news, one New Jersey employer recently felt the wrath of the U.S. Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) facing 14 safety violations.

  • Safety and health precautions — such as using a regulated area and personal protective equipment, and conducting exposure monitoring — were not in place for workers removing pipes and pipe insulation containing asbestos;
  • Asbestos was not identified and labeled in the storage warehouse;
  • Employees were not trained on the proper handling of asbestos and related health hazards; and
  • Workers were exposed to fire hazards due to improperly maintained exit routes.

These stories highlight why safety procedures are so important. In some cases, there are no proper safety precautions in place. In others, there are safety measures in place but they may not have been followed.

According to the OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) law, employers have the responsibility to provide a safe workplace. They must provide their employees with a workplace free of serious hazards and follow all safety and health standards. They must provide training, keep accurate records, and notify OSHA within eight hours of a workplace fatality or within 24 hours of any work-related impatient hospitalization, amputation or loss of an eye.

Experienced Workers Compensation Lawyers in NJ

If you or a loved one has been injured or became ill while performing work as an employee in Monmouth County or Ocean County, New Jersey, you may be eligible for workers’ compensation to cover medical bills, ongoing care, as well as lost wages from missed time at work. Contact the workers’ compensation attorneys of Villani & DeLuca P.C. at 888-389-9533 for a free consultation today. We will review your case and advise you of the important steps to take. Our personal injury attorneys have the experience and knowledge to assist you in filing paperwork and communicating with both the insurance company and your employer, while protecting your rights.

home-publications