NJ DUI Lawyers Will Fight Your Drunk Driving Charge
Are you facing a New Jersey DUI charge? If so, state laws are particularly strict and can greatly affect your future if you are convicted. But, you do have multiple options allowed to you by New Jersey. Your right to consult with DWI lawyers in Oceanport can help you avoid penalties and bring back regularity to your life.
In the event of a charge for driving while intoxicated, lawyers from Villani & DeLuca can help. The intricate law surrounding DUI should only be handled by an attorney with the right background. A conviction might change your life in a negative way, but NJ DWI attorneys can change it for the better.
Know the DWI Laws in New Jersey
If you were recently stopped at a DUI checkpoint or pulled over by police for suspicion of driving drunk, you may currently be facing serious DUI allegations. You may be required to participate in a field sobriety test if an officer thinks you could be intoxicated beyond the legal limit. If there is enough reason to suspect alcohol has been consumed by the driver, an officer may also ask you to take part in a breath test. You are not permitted to drive with a blood alcohol concentration reading that exceeds 0.08%.
Get an Experienced Attorney for Your DUI Charge
Villani & DeLuca, P.C. is a DUI legal practice in New Jersey that has years of wide-ranging defense of clients who were accused of driving while intoxicated. Partner and founding member of Villani & DeLuca, Carmine Villani, Esq. will make sure you have a chance against the charges thanks to his experience handling DWI charges in NJ. As a member of the National College for DWI Defense, Mr. Villani has successfully protected his clients from false accusations relating to DWI for many years.
Trained in Alcotest® and Breathalyzer
The Draeger Alcotest® 7110 and Breathalyzer devices have to be operated properly in order to create accurate readings and be considered legally admissible. Mr. Villani specializes in the assessment of these procedures. Because of the same training that NJ police officers get for breath tests, Mr. Villani will take note of police procedures, machine calibration and the maintenance of the device in order to help build a better legal strategy for you.
Standardized Field Sobriety Testing
Police are authorized to use the standardized field sobriety test (SFST) on people suspected of drunken driving or of being otherwise impaired. But, the use of a field sobriety test is only relevant if it was properly conducted.
Drug Recognition Evaluation
The number of drug-related driving arrests are on the rise in NJ. If you were arrested on suspicion of DUI, hiring attorney with experience in drug recognition evaluation (DRE) is imperative to your case. Mr. Villani underwent the same training as New Jersey law enforcement officials in drug recognition evaluation (DRE), giving him unique insight into NJ DUI/DWI laws and how best to fight them.
How to Fight Charges With a Lawyer
The severity of penalties for a DUI conviction will differ depending on the context of the incident itself. Conviction of a DWI can lead to a fine of up to $1,000, a maximum license suspension of 10 years and the installation of a mandatory interlock ignition device during and after license suspension, time in prison and other consequences.
If your blood alcohol level reads above the legal limit, it is important to have a DWI lawyer on your side. Not all BAC readings recorded by the Alcotest® equipment are correct, because of a multitude of factors, and can create false positives. Were you arrested and charged with a DUI in Oceanport, New Jersey? Make sure you get the experience you need with a DUI law firm like Villani & DeLuca.
Breath Test Refusal
New Jersey operates under an implied consent law, which requires drivers to participate in a breath test if there is suspicion of a drunk driver or driving under the influence of illegal substances. If a refusal does take place, you will be charged with breath test refusal and you will lose your license for at least seven months. Drivers found guilty of turning down a breath test can be subject to steeper penalties than people convicted of a DUI with a BAC reading of 0.10% or more.
Were you stopped and made to blow into a Breathalyzer without probable cause? It is not legal to force a person to take a breath test if he or she was told to use a Breathalyzer without probable cause. You can fight your charges on the grounds that the officer who arrested you never truly established probable cause.
How DWI Checkpoints Work in NJ
You may be questioned after being stopped by law enforcement at a DWI checkpoint. Although officers are permitted to ask you a variety of things, you would not have to answer anything other than basic information. The trunk of a vehicle cannot be searched without permission or a warrant.
The behavior of the officer who arrested you at a DUI checkpoint might be part of your defense during a trial. If you were treated unfairly, your charges might not stick.
Contact Villani & DeLuca for a Free Consultation
We will protect your rights just like we have been able to do for clients charged with DWI since 1996. If you are interested in fighting your DWI charges in Oceanport, NJ, let Villani & DeLuca know. Our attorneys will try continue working to get your charges reduced or dropped entirely. Your life can be negatively affected by a guilty ruling.
We are here to assist any time of the day and every day of the year. Call (732) 709-7757 to have a consultation with an attorney, free of charge.