Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Matawan NJ

Experienced Matawan Marijuana Distribution and Possession Defense Lawyers Will Fight for You

If you do not have the right legal help, weed charges may be a big issue. Do not leave room for the possibility of a conviction for pot possession or distribution. Although medical marijuana is legal and may be used by particular individuals, the pot laws still are in full effect for the majority of citizens in NJ. You need a marijuana defense lawyer serving Matawan, NJ, if you have been arrested for marijuana possession, distribution or the intent to distribute.

Know the Law, Evade Marijuana Charges in NJ

NJ considers marijuana a Schedule 1 Controlled Dangerous Substance. Fewer than 50 grams is a disorderly persons offense, however a larger amount may create felony charges.

If you are arrested in possession of marijuana (this can be less than 50 grams), charges often go beyond further than simple possession. Even if you were not taken into custody after selling marijuana, you may be charged with the intent to distribute, which is just as serious. Distribution and the intent to sell carry much harsher penalties than possession. You need to build a solid defense with an experienced Matawan, New Jersey marijuana law firm to defend your case.

New Jersey Defense Lawyers With a Background Disputing Marijuana Charges

As a former municipal prosecutor and public defender, Carmine Villani, Esq. has uncommon experience for a marijuana criminal defense attorney. Villani & DeLuca was established in 1996 and has been battling weed allegations for the accused ever since.

Marijuana Statutes in New Jersey

{Your marijuana charges hinge on how much marijuana you had on you, where your arrest happened and what law enforcement believes you were attempting to do with the illegal drugs you had on you.|Marijuana charges may be severe or basically minimal depending on the geography of your arrest, the weight of marijuana and what the arresting officer and the prosecutor perceives your intent was (distribution or personal use).

Possession of Marijuana

Your marijuana possession charges in New Jersey can landyou in prison for six months with a $1,000 fine, even if the amount of marijuana is below 50 grams. In New Jersey, possession of 50+ grams of marijuana will usher in in an 18-month jail term and a maximum fine of $25,000.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Sell Marijuana

Marijuana distribution is a felony, but fines and punishments vary. For instance, a charge in the fourth degree (less than one ounce) can lead to a maximum fine of $10,000 and a prison sentence of up to a year and a half, while charge of the first degree can require a maximum sentence of twenty years and a fine of up to $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

Protected zones include school zones, such as school buildings and school vehicles, as well as public parks. A punishment is heightened if the arrest took place in a protected zone in New Jersey. Ask a NJ defense lawyer to explain your rights and potential strategies if you were charged with distribution of marijuana in a protected zone in Matawan, NJ.

Medical Marijuana

NJ does have a medical marijuana program, but it is extremely limited in the sense that few people qualify for it. Although you might be allowed to use medical marijuana in one state, NJ’s medical marijuana program does not include many illnesses. While some states have very tolerant medical marijuana policies, New Jersey does not. Only serious conditions may result in medicinal marijuana exceptions.

Villani & DeLuca is Here for You All Day, Every Day for Legal Advice

Are you currently in a legal struggle over marijuana possession or distribution in Matawan, New Jersey? Ask New Jersey marijuana attorneys for legal assistance with a free consultation by calling Villani & DeLuca at (732) 965-3350.

home-publications