Call 24/7 to Book a Free Consultation (732) 709-7757

Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Manasquan NJ

Qualified Manasquan Marijuana Distribution and Possession Defense Attorneys Will Protect Your Rights

If you do not have proper legal representation, weed charges can be a big issue. NJ has tough marijuana laws and penalties for possession and distribution. Despite the permitted use of medical marijuana (under extremely specific and controlled situations), NJ will go after people arrested for using, selling and growing marijuana. You need a pot defense attorney serving Manasquan, NJ, if you have been taken in for marijuana possession, distribution or the intent to distribute.

Know the Law, Evade Marijuana Allegations in NJ

Marijuana is a Controlled Dangerous Substance according to NJ, which means that the penalties can be severe. Less than 50 grams is a disorderly persons offense, however a larger amount may warrant felony charges.

If you are arrested in owning marijuana (this can be fewer than 50 grams), charges often extend beyond possession. The state will occasionally pursue charges for the intent to distribute, which is treated the same as being caught in the process of actually selling marijuana. Usually, the intent to distribute is a more severe charge than possession. A Manasquan criminal defense attorney can fight to have your distribution allegations lessened to possession.

NJ Criminal Defense Attorneys With a Background Fighting Marijuana Charges

The attorneys of Villani & DeLuca have been arguing marijuana-related charges in New Jersey since the law firm opened its doors in 1996. Partner Carmine Villani, Esq. has been practicing law since 1992 and focuses on protecting clients against criminal charges such as possession and distribution of pot. Mr. Villani is a previous municipal prosecutor and will implement his background to help your case, giving you the best possible defense.

Marijuana Charges and Penalties Our Qualified New Jersey Defense Lawyers Will Argue

{The seriousness of the accusations that can be filed you in New Jersey differ depending on the circumstances of your arrest, including the weight of the marijuana discovered on your person, the location of your arrest and the intent perceived by law enforcement and the prosecution.|Marijuana charges can be severe or basically minimal depending on where the arrest occurred, the amount of marijuana and if the arresting officer and the prosecutor believes your intent was (intent to sell or recreational use).

Possession of Marijuana

Your marijuana possession charges in New Jersey can placeyou in prison for six months with a $1,000 fine, even if the amount of marijuana is below 50 grams. If your marijuana possession exceeds 50 grams, you can receive a verdict with a prison sentence that is a maximum of 18 months along with a much bigger fine of $25,000.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Distribute

Penalties for distribution charges are usually more extensive than penalties for basic possession is in New Jersey. Distribution of less than one ounce of pot is a crime in the fourth degree and may generate penalties of a mac sentence of a year and a half in jail and fines up to $10,000. A decision that leads to your conviction for selling in the first degree, you might end up in prison for as long as twenty years with a maximum fine of $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

A protected zone is school property like town-operated buildings and vehicles and public parks. If you are found guilty of marijuana distribution in one of these protected zones, your punishments might be increased according to New Jersey law. Enlist the assistance of a NJ criminal defense lawyer if you were arrested and charged with marijuana possession or distribution in a Manasquan protected zone.

Medicinal Marijuana

If you have been approved by the state of New Jersey to participate in medical marijuana, you may be exempted from particular possession charges. But, if you are from another state, don't think that your medical marijuana exemption applies in New Jersey. To get approved for use of medical marijuana in New Jersey, you must acquire a doctor's validation of a serious illness such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, multiple sclerosis, terminal cancer, muscular dystrophy, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn's disease or a life threatening illness if the physician has determined a prognosis of less than a year of life.

Villani & DeLuca is Available All Day, Every Day for Legal Assistance

To deal with your marijuana charges in Manasquan, New Jersey, contact Villani & DeLuca criminal defense lawyers. You may also speak with a criminal defense attorney for a free consultation with a phone call to (732) 709-7757.

Contact Us Today

Villani & DeLuca, P.C. is committed to answering your questions about Divorce & Family Law, Criminal Defense, Personal Injury, and DWI & Traffic Law issues in New Jersey. We offer a Free Consultation and we'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.