Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Manalapan NJ

Qualified Manalapan Marijuana Possession Defense Attorneys Will Fight for You

Ignoring marijuana laws in New Jersey may justify significant consequences depending on the scale of the crime. Possession and distribution penalties vary in severity, but both types of pot charges necessitate the help of a lawyer. Ensure you have a good defense by hiring a qualified criminal defense lawyer in Manalapan, New Jersey. Make sure you know your rights and how to protect yourself against the state with the assistance of a NJ marijuana defense lawyer.

Have a Better Understanding of New Jersey Marijuana Laws

NJ considers marijuana a Schedule 1 Controlled Dangerous Substance. If you have possession of over 50 grams of pot on you when you are taken into custody, it will justify felony charges.

Possession is one thing, but distribution accusations are even more serious. If you were taken into custody for possession of a large quantity of pot, you may be charged as if you had the intention to distribute Your attorney will work hard to have your distribution charges in Manalapan diminished to possession or dismissed.

Experienced NJ Drug Possession Attorneys

With experience fighting drug charges as a criminal defense attorney and securing drug charges as a former prosecutor, Carmine Villani, Esq. will assist you with your marijuana possession or distribution charges. Villani & DeLuca was established in 1996 and has been fighting weed charges for the accused ever since.

Marijuana Statutes in New Jersey

{The severity of the accusations that can be filed you in the state vary depending on the specifics of your arrest, including the weight of the marijuana found on your person, the location of your arrest and the intent perceived by police and the state.|Marijuana charges can be serious or relatively minimal depending on the geography of your arrest, the weight of marijuana and what the arresting officer and the prosecutor believes your intent was (distribution or personal use).

Possession of Marijuana

A conviction of marijuana possession of under fifty grams can result in sentences ofup to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. However, the punishment can be as high as 18 months in jail with a max fine of $25,000, when the volume of marijuana exceeds 50 grams.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Sell Marijuana

All pot distribution allegations are felonies by law in New Jersey with a guilty verdict, but the punishments coupled with these charges vary in seriousness. For example, a fourth degree charge (less than one ounce) can lead to a fine of up to $10,000 and a jail term of up to a year and a half, while a first degree charge can come with a maximum sentence of twenty years and a fine of up to $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

Protected zones include schools, such as school properties and school vehicles, as well as public parks. If you are convicted of selling marijuana in one of these protected zones, your punishments might be enhanced according to state law. Enlist the assistance of a NJ criminal defense lawyer if you were arrested and charged with marijuana possession or distribution in a Manalapan protected zone.

Medicinal Marijuana

If you were allowed by the state of NJ to participate in medical marijuana, you could be exempted from certain possession charges. But, if you do live in another state, do not assume that your medicinal marijuana card is valid in NJ. Only serious health conditions or a mortal illness may be accepted as a medical marijuana allowance in NJ.

Villani & DeLuca is Available 24/7 for Legal Assistance

Get in touch with Villani & DeLuca today if you are facing marijuana charges in Manalapan, New Jersey. You may also talk to a criminal defense attorney for a free consultation with a phone call to (732) 965-3350.

home-publications