Call 24/7 to Book a Free Consultation (732) 709-7757

Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Little Silver NJ

Experienced Little Silver Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyers Will Protect Your Rights

Marijuana laws in NJ are strict and can result in a variety of fines and other consequences. Possession and distribution consequences vary in harshness, but both kinds of pot charges necessitate the assistance of a lawyer. Make sure you have a good defense by hiring a qualified criminal defense attorney in Little Silver, NJ. NJ criminal defense attorneys will fight to defend your freedoms and fight pot-related charges.

Have a Better Understanding of New Jersey Marijuana Charges

Marijuana is a Controlled Dangerous Substance in NJ, which means that the penalties are often severe. If you have control of over 50 grams of pot on you when you are taken into custody, it will justify felony charges.

Even if you have a moderately tiny amount of marijuana in your possession, you might still be charged with intention to sell. Even if you were not taken into custody after distributing marijuana, you can get charged with the intent to distribute, which is just as forbidding. Usually, the intent to sell is a more serious charge than possession. A Little Silver criminal defense lawyer can fight to have your distribution charges lessened to possession.

New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys With a Background Disputing Marijuana Charges

Since being established in 1996, Villani & DeLuca criminal defense attorneys have fought for the rights of clients fighting drug charges, such as marijuana possession and distribution. Carmine Villani, Esq. is a drug defense attorney with a background in protecting clients who have to deal with accusations of drug charges. He has also worked as as municipal prosecutor and public defender in NJ, giving him a rare advantage when battling criminal allegations.

Marijuana Statutes in New Jersey

{Your pot charges depend on how much marijuana you were in possession of, where your arrest happened and what police believe you were trying to do with the illegal drugs you had on you.|Marijuana charges may be serious or basically insignificant depending on the geography of your arrest, the amount of marijuana and if the arresting officer and the prosecutor perceives your intent was (distribution or personal use).

Possession of Marijuana

Marijuana possession in NJ of fewer than 50 grams can bring about jail terms of as much as 6 months and fines that may be as much as $1,000. However, the penalty can be as many as 18 months in prison with a max fine of $25,000, when the total amount of marijuana get beyond 50 grams.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Sell Marijuana

All pot distribution charges are felonies by law in NJ with a conviction, but the consequences coupled with these charges vary in seriousness. A conviction of marijuana distribution in the first degree is so strict that the defendant can face twenty years incarceration and a maximum fine that reaches up to $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

All marijuana-related allegations will be heightened if the crime happens in a location designated by New Jersey laws as a protected zone. These protected zones include public parks and school zones. School zones are defined as any land rented or owned by an elementary school, intermediate school, high school or school board and include land as far as 1,000 feet from these buildings as well as school vehicles. Increased charges will still take place even if school is not in session and no minors are in the vicinity. Distributing drugs in or near a school is especially serious. But, you may still be able to fight your charges, with the help of a criminal defense attorney.

Medical Marijuana

If you have been permitted by the state of NJ to use medical marijuana, you could be exempted from certain possession charges. However, NJ doesn't recognize patients who have been approved to use medical marijuana by other states. Only severe health conditions or a mortal illness will substantiate a medical marijuana allowance in New Jersey.

Villani & DeLuca is Available All Day, Every Day for Legal Advice

Get in touch with Villani & DeLuca right now if you are fighting marijuana charges in Little Silver, New Jersey. You may also reach a Villani & DeLuca defense lawyer at (732) 709-7757 for a free-of-charge legal consultation. Our New Jersey marijuana defense lawyers are here 24 hours a day, every day of the year.

Contact Us Today

Villani & DeLuca, P.C. is committed to answering your questions about Divorce & Family Law, Criminal Defense, Personal Injury, and DWI & Traffic Law issues in New Jersey. We offer a Free Consultation and we'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.