Call 24/7 to Book a Free Consultation (732) 709-7757

Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Keansburg NJ

Experienced Keansburg Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyers

Ignoring marijuana laws in NJ can lead to substantial consequences depending on the scale of the crime. The state uses its strict drug laws to arraign defendants for charges like the possession, distribution and growing of pot. Make sure you have a strong defense by hiring a qualified criminal defense attorney in Keansburg, New Jersey. Make sure you know your rights and how to protect yourself against the state with the assistance of a NJ marijuana defense lawyer.

Have a Better Understanding of NJ Marijuana Charges

Marijuana is called a Controlled Dangerous Substance in New Jersey. Charges relating to possession of a Controlled Dangerous Substance depend upon the quantity of marijuana found on your person when you were arrested. 50+ grams of marijuana can result in a less strict charge like disorderly persons. However, if you are arrested with possession of 50 grams or more of marijuana, it may lead to a felony charge.

Even if you are arrested with a comparatively small amount of marijuana in your possession, you might still get charged with intention to sell. The state will sometimes pursue charges for the intent to sell, which is treated the equivalent of being caught in the process of physically selling pot. Distribution and the intent to distribute are punished by much harsher consequences than possession. You should create a strong defense with an experienced Keansburg, New Jersey marijuana law firm to make sure your charges don't exceed possession.

Experienced NJ Drug Possession Attorneys

The attorneys of Villani & DeLuca have been disputing marijuana-related crime accusations in New Jersey since opening its doors in 1996. Partner Carmine Villani, Esq. has been practicing law since 1992 and focuses on protecting clients against criminal charges like possession and distribution of pot. He has also worked as as municipal prosecutor and public defender in New Jersey, giving him a unique advantage when battling criminal allegations.

Marijuana Charges and Penalties Our Qualified NJ Defense Attorneys Will Fight

{Your marijuana charges hinge on how much marijuana you had on you, where your arrest happened and what law enforcement believes you were trying to do with the illegal drugs in your possession.|Marijuana charges may be serious or basically insignificant depending on the geography of your arrest, the amount of marijuana and if the officer who arrested you and the prosecutor believes your intentions were (intent to sell or recreational use).

Possession of Marijuana

Your marijuana possession charges in New Jersey can placeyou in prison for six months with a $1,000 fine, even when the amount of marijuana is fewer than 50 grams. If your marijuana possession tops 50 grams, you can be charged with with a prison sentence that is a maximum of 18 months and a much larger fine of $25,000.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Sell Marijuana

Marijuana distribution may be a felony, but fines and punishments depend on a variety of factors. For example, a fourth degree charge (less than one ounce) can lead to a fine of up to 10 grand and a jail term of up to 18 months, while charge of the first degree would come with a maximum sentence of twenty years and a fine of up to $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

An arrest in a protected zone upgrades a minimal penalty into a more severe one. These protected zones contain public parks and school zones. A school zone legally extends 1,000 feet from labeled buildings owned by the school district. It can be the middle of summer for an arrest in a school zone to apply to your charges. Selling drugs in or near a school is particularly serious. There are allowances to this law, however, an experienced New Jersey marijuana attorney can argue that the mandatory minimum sentence is not applicable.

Medicinal Marijuana

Medical marijuana is permitted in NJ, but there are multiple stipulations and regulations when considering the medical marijuana exemption. If you are permitted to use medical by another state, for example, which does not necessarily entitle you to medical marijuana use in NJ. The medical marijuana laws of NJ are typically more strict than similar medical marijuana programs around the country. Medical marijuana is reserved for more serious health issues and potentially life-threatening illnesses.

Villani & DeLuca is Available 24/7 for Legal Advice

To deal with your marijuana charges in Keansburg, N, contact Villani & DeLuca criminal defense lawyers. You may also talk to a criminal defense attorney for a free consultation with a phone call to (732) 709-7757.

Contact Us Today

Villani & DeLuca, P.C. is committed to answering your questions about Divorce & Family Law, Criminal Defense, Personal Injury, and DWI & Traffic Law issues in New Jersey. We offer a Free Consultation and we'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.