Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Hazlet NJ

Experienced Hazlet Marijuana Possession Defense Attorneys Will Fight for You

If you do not have proper legal help, marijuana charges will create a big issue. New Jersey has tough marijuana laws and penalties for possession and distribution. Despite the allowed use of medical marijuana (under very specific and controlled situations), New Jersey will prosecute people arrested for using, selling and growing pot. If you were arrested for pot possession, your Hazlet, NJ attorney can assist you through the legal steps.

Understand the Law, Avoid Marijuana Allegations in New Jersey

Marijuana is called a Controlled Dangerous Substance in NJ. The amount of marijuana you had in your possession will change the consequences you can face. 50+ grams of weed can warrant a less severe charge like disorderly persons. However, possession of amounts of marijuana over 50 grams classified as a more serious crime.

Even if you have a comparatively small amount of marijuana in your possession, you can still get charged with intent to distribute. The state will occasionally pursue charges for the intent to sell, which is effectively the same as being caught in the process of physically selling marijuana. Distribution and the intent to sell carry much more intense consequences than possession. You need to build a strong defense with an experienced Hazlet, New Jersey marijuana law firm to ensure your charges do not exceed possession.

New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyers With Experience Disputing Marijuana Charges

Since opening in 1996, Villani & DeLuca marijuana possession attorneys have fought for the rights of clients disputing drug charges, like marijuana possession and distribution. Partner Carmine Villani, Esq. has been practicing law since 1992 and concentrates on protecting clients against criminal charges such as possession and distribution of marijuana. Mr. Villani is a previous municipal prosecutor and will leverage his background to bolster your case, giving you the best possible defense.

Marijuana Charges Our Qualified New Jersey Defense Attorneys Will Argue

{Your marijuana charges hinge on how much marijuana you were in possession of, where your arrest took place and what police believe you were trying to do with the illegal drugs in your possession.|Were you arrested with a large quantity of pot in your possession? Based on the circumstances of , including type of drug packaging, presence of drug paraphernalia, and quantities of marijuana, prosecution may choose to book you for the distribution instead of just possession.

Possession of Marijuana

Your marijuana possession charges in New Jersey can landyou in prison for six months with a $1,000 fine, even if the quantity of marijuana is below 50 grams. If your marijuana possession tops 50 grams, you can receive a verdict with a jail sentence that is as much as 18 months and a much heftier fine of $25,000.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Distribute

Marijuana distribution is a felony, but fines and punishments vary. For example, a fourth degree charge (less than one ounce) can lead to a fine of up to $10,000 and a jail term of up to a year and a half, while charge of the first degree would require a maximum sentence of twenty years and a fine of up to $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

All pot-related charges will be heightened if the crime takes place in a site designated by New Jersey rule as a protected zone. These protected zones include public parks and school zones. A school zone actually extends 1,000 feet from labeled buildings owned by the school district. School does not need to be in session for an arrest in a school zone to affect your charges. Selling drugs in or near a school is especially serious. There are extenuating circumstances to this policy, however, an experienced New Jersey marijuana possession attorney can argue that the mandatory minimum sentence does not apply.

Medicinal Marijuana

If you have been allowed by the state of New Jersey to participate in medical marijuana, you could be excused from certain possession charges. However, New Jersey does not recognize patients who have been allowed to use medical marijuana by other states. Only grim health conditions or a terminal illness may justify a medical marijuana exemption in NJ.

Villani & DeLuca is Here for You 24/7 for Legal Advice

Are you currently in a legal struggle over marijuana possession or distribution in Hazlet, New Jersey? Ask New Jersey marijuana lawyers for legal assistance with a free consultation by calling Villani & DeLuca at (732) 965-3350.

home-publications