Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Brielle NJ

Experienced Brielle Marijuana Possession Defense Attorneys Will Fight for You

A marijuana charge in New Jersey can be a big problem if it is not handled correctly. Do not risk a conviction for pot possession or distribution. Even with the allowed use of medical marijuana (under very specific and controlled situations), NJ will prosecute people arrested for using, selling and growing marijuana. If you were arrested for pot possession, your Brielle, NJ lawyer can help you through the legal process.

Have a Better Understanding of NJ Marijuana Charges

In accordance with state laws, marijuana is classified as a Controlled Dangerous Substance. Charges relating to possession of a CDS depend upon the weight of marijuana discovered at the time of arrest. If you are in possession of fewer than 50 grams of marijuana at the time of custody, you could be accused of a disorderly persons offense. However, if you are arrested with possession of 50 grams of marijuana, it can end in a felony charge.

Being in possession of large quantities of marijuana will often times lead to in charges besides simple possession. An arrest for marijuana possession can turn into attempt to sell depending on the quantity in your possession and what law enforcement determines your intentions were. An experienced lawyer serving Brielle, NJ may assist your fight against these charges if there is any inquiry of your intentions.

Experienced NJ Drug Possession Attorneys

Since opening in 1996, Villani & DeLuca criminal defense lawyers have argued for the rights of clients disputing drug charges, like marijuana possession and distribution. Carmine Villani, Esq. is a marijuana possession attorney with a history in protecting clients fighting drug charges. Mr. Villani is a previous municipal prosecutor and will use his experience to help your defense, giving you the best possible defense.

Marijuana Charges

{Your pot charges hinge on how much marijuana you were in possession of, where your arrest took place and what law enforcement believes you were attempting to do with the illegal drugs in your possession.|Were you taken into custody for a large amount of marijuana in your possession? Based on the circumstances of , including type of drug packaging, presence of drug paraphernalia, and quantities of marijuana, the state may choose to charge you with the intent to distribute rather than just possession.

Possession of Marijuana

Being found guilty of weed possession of less than fifty grams can trigger penalties ofup to half a year months in prison and a maximum fine of $1000. Possession of marijuana in levels of greater than 50 grams is more serious and can generate a $25,000 fine and as much as an 18-month incarceration.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Distribute

All pot distribution allegations are felonies by law in NJ with a conviction, but the consequences associated with these charges vary in severity. For instance, a fourth degree charge (less than one ounce) can lead to a fine of up to $10,000 and a jail term of up to 18 months, while charge of the first degree can have a maximum sentence of twenty years and a max fine of $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

A protected zone is school property like town-operated buildings and vehicles and public parks. If you are convicted of marijuana distribution in one of these protected zones, your punishments will be increased according to New Jersey law. Hire a NJ criminal defense attorney if you were arrested and charged with marijuana possession or distribution in a Brielle protected zone.

Medicinal Marijuana

Medical marijuana is legal in NJ, but there are multiple stipulations and guidelines involved with the medical marijuana exemption. Although you might be qualified for medical marijuana somewhere else in the United States, NJ’s medicinal marijuana program does not accept many illnesses. While some states have very lenient medical marijuana policies, New Jersey does not. Medical marijuana is intended for only major health concerns and potentially life-threatening illnesses.

Villani & DeLuca is Available 24/7 for Legal Assistance

Have you been charged with marijuana possession or intent to sell in Brielle, New Jersey? Ask NJ marijuana lawyers for legal assistance with a free consultation by calling Villani & DeLuca at (732) 965-3350.

home-publications