Call 24/7 to Book a Free Consultation (732) 709-7757

Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Atlantic Highlands NJ

Experienced Atlantic Highlands Marijuana Distribution and Possession Defense Attorneys

Marijuana laws in New Jersey are strict and may result in a variety of penalties and punishments. Possession and distribution consequences vary in severity, but both types of pot charges necessitate the help of an attorney. Make sure you have a good defense by hiring a qualified criminal defense lawyer in Atlantic Highlands, NJ. Make sure you know your rights and how to defend yourself against the prosecution with the assistance of a NJ marijuana defense lawyer.

Have a Better Understanding of New Jersey Marijuana Laws

According to New Jersey laws, marijuana is considered a Controlled Dangerous Substance. The amount of marijuana discovered in your possession will affect the penalties you may receive. If you are in possession of less than 50 grams of pot at the time of custody, you may be accused of a disorderly persons offense. But, if you are arrested with possession of 50 grams of marijuana, it can end in a felony charge.

If you are arrested in owning marijuana (this can be a smaller amount than 50 grams), charges will frequently extend beyond simple possession. The state will occasionally pursue charges for the intent to distribute, which is effectively the equivalent of being caught in the process of physically selling marijuana. Usually, the intent to distribute is a more severe charge than possession. A Atlantic Highlands criminal defense lawyer may help get your distribution charges lessened to possession.

NJ Criminal Defense Lawyers With Experience Fighting Marijuana Charges

As a former municipal prosecutor and public defender, Carmine Villani, Esq. has unique experience for a marijuana criminal defense lawyer. Villani & DeLuca opened in 1996 and has been battling pot charges for the accused ever since.

Marijuana Charges

{The seriousness of the accusations that can be brought against you in the state alter depending on the circumstances of your situation, such as the total marijuana found on your person, the location of your arrest and the intent perceived by police and the prosecution.|Were you taken into custody for a large amount of pot in your possession? Dependent upon the circumstances surrounding , including type of drug packaging, presence of drug paraphernalia, and quantities of marijuana, the state may decide to book you for the distribution instead of just possession.

Possession of Marijuana

Your marijuana possession charges in NJ can placeyou in prison for six months with a $1,000 fine, even if the amount of marijuana is less than 50 grams. If your marijuana possession tops 50 grams, you can receive a verdict with a prison term that is a maximum of 18 months along with a much heftier fine of $25,000.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Distribute

Distribution is a very serious charge in New Jersey. Distribution of only an ounce of marijuana or less may earn a maximum prison term of 18 months and a fine as expensive as $10,000 for a conviction. If you are ruled to be guilty of distributing or the intent to distribute in the first degree, your penalties can be as intense as a twenty-year jail term and a $300,000 fine.

School Zones and Public Parks

An arrest in a protected zone transforms a lesser penalty into a more severe one. Protected zones are in or near school zones as well as public parks. A school zone actually extends 1,000 feet from designated buildings owned by the school district. Increased charges will still take place even if it is not during the school year and no students are present. Distributing marijuana in or near a school is especially serious. There are exceptions to this policy, however, a qualified New Jersey marijuana attorney can argue that the mandatory minimum sentence is not applicable.

Medical Marijuana

NJ does have a medicinal marijuana program, but it is extremely regulated in the sense that not many people qualify for it. If you are allowed to use medical by another state, for example, which does not necessarily mean you will be approved by New Jersey. While certain states have very tolerant medical marijuana policies, New Jersey does not. Medical marijuana is intended for more serious health concerns and possibly life-threatening diseases.

Villani & DeLuca is Available 24/7 for Legal Assistance

To handle your marijuana charges in Atlantic Highlands, N, contact Villani & DeLuca criminal defense lawyers. You can also speak with a Villani & DeLuca defense attorney at (732) 709-7757 for a free-of-charge legal consultation. Our NJ marijuana defense lawyers are here 24 hours a day, each day of the year.

Contact Us Today

Villani & DeLuca, P.C. is committed to answering your questions about Divorce & Family Law, Criminal Defense, Personal Injury, and DWI & Traffic Law issues in New Jersey. We offer a Free Consultation and we'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.