Auto Accidents Due To Distracted Driving

Car Accident Attorneys, Villani & DeLuca Can Help You Receive CoverageIn the State of New Jersey, according to the State Attorney General, distracted driving accounted as a factor in 1.4 million auto accidents between the years 2004-2013. Distracted Driving is a term used to describe an array of activities that can distract the driver of a motor vehicle, ultimately causing crashes, accidents and even deaths. Some of these activities include, texting, using a laptop, disciplining children in the back seat, driving while talking on the phone, using navigation devices, reading, adjusting the radio, eating/drinking, grooming, and talking to a passenger. These activities not only put people inside the car at risk but also people outside of the car. Due to the concentration required to drive a car, texting is often viewed as the most dangerous form of distracted driving. Many states across the country including New Jersey have attempted to increase penalties and fines to promote safer driving.

Auto Insurance Companies

According to a 2013 NHTSA survey, on any given day about 660,000 Americans are operating a motor vehicles while using an electronic or cellular device. In New Jersey although distracted driving is a problem caused by carelessness, auto insurance companies will cover an accident even if the driver causing the accident was distracted. Eventually insurance companies will begin to combat distractive driving by raising the premiums or completely dropping the coverage of repeat distracted drivers who have filed accident claims.

Proactive Measures

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) distracted driving is a factor in 4,300 accidents daily across the country. The New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety are using a familiar strategy to fix the epidemic of distracted driving. Similar to the “Click it or Ticket” and “Driver Sober or Get Pulled Over,” campaigns, in 2014 the initiative “UDrive. UText. Upay.” was implemented in New Jersey. Besides raising public awareness legislators in 2014 also amended the NJ Cell Phone While Driving Law (N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.3). It changed the penalties of using a cellphone while driving to: first offense fine of $200 – $400, second offense of $400 – $600, and third offense of $600 – $800. For repeated or subsequent offenses “the court, in its discretion, may order the person to forfeit the right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of 90 days. In addition, a person convicted of a third or subsequent violation shall be assessed three motor vehicle penalty points.”

Speak With A Defense Attorney

Were you charged with a motor vehicle violation based on distracted driving in NJ? Call an experienced defense lawyer today! Contact Villani & DeLuca if you have been charged in New Jersey with a motor vehicle violations. Call 888-389-9533 today for a free initial consultation. We represent clients throughout New Jersey including Ocean County and Monmouth County.

home-publications