“Driving is a privilege, not a right.” If you are convicted of a moving violation, the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will penalize you by adding points to your driving record. You will only get points on your record for moving violations – points are not assessed for parking and other violations. The MVC provides a table of the point assessment ((N.J.A.C. 13:-10.1) with a breakdown on the number of points earned for specific violations. Basically, the more serious the violation, the more points you are assessed. Also, if you have a NJ driver's license and receive a moving violation from another state (excluding Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee, and Wisconsin) you will also receive points.
How Do Points Affect Me?
If you get six or more points within three years on your current driving record, you will be assessed a surcharge. If you get 12 or more points on your current driving record, your license will be suspended. You will receive a notice of scheduled suspension by mail. Getting points on your license may also increase your insurance rates after just 6 points.
How Do I Remove These Points?
Keeping an eye on your driving history and reducing the point total any time you can is a smart thing to consider. Although MVC keeps a permanent record of all the points you've earned, it is possible to earn point deductions. The New Jersey State Defensive Driving website offers an online 6 hour NJ defensive driving course to help drivers easily remove points from their records that can get you a 2 point reduction on your driving record. The NJ mandatory law states upon completion of the course, drivers are eligible to receive up to 10% reduction on their car insurance for 3 years. Contact your NJ auto insurance agent to confirm what percentage discount you're eligible to receive. The course is approved by the New Jersey MVC and offers a secure, private way to reduce your driving record points.
Points can also be removed by going one year with no violations or suspension – this will remove three points from your driving record. Each time you remove points, it helps to also reduce your insurance rates, so you should give your insurance a call as well.
Contact Our Experienced New Jersey Traffic Lawyers
If you or a loved one has been charged with violating a New Jersey traffic law, contact our experienced New Jersey traffic lawyers of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. to protect your rights right away. Call (732) 709-7757 for your complimentary consultation. We represent clients throughout Ocean County and Monmouth County New Jersey.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment