It wouldn't be a Jersey Shore summer without a few drinks with friends. Alcohol is definitely a big part of lounging at the beach and hitting the clubs at night in Ocean County. But the New Jersey local and State Police are fully aware that these summer activities can also cause a spike in driving while intoxicated charges. In the summer, NJ DWI lawyers see an increase in driving while intoxicated charges, as the influx of tourists and college students flock to vacation spots like Belmar, Point Pleasant and Seaside Heights.
DWI Enforcement Checkpoints
Ocean County authorities have stepped up intoxicated driving enforcement and checkpoints throughout Ocean and Monmouth County during the summer traveling season; here's what you need to know about NJ DWI charges. Checkpoints will continue in various areas countywide but the location will be unknown. Unlike Monmouth County, Ocean county does not announce the exact location of their checkpoints. The purpose is that this will avoid any intentional bypass of roadblock locations by intoxicated motorist.
According to an article in the Brick Shorebeat, the program targets those under the influence of alcohol, but in response to Ocean County's drug crisis also utilizes an addition of two drug recognition experts, known as DREs, at each checkpoint to detect those under the influence of narcotics. The county also oversees a countywide call out system for DRE's to respond and assist local agencies in conducting evaluations of motorists suspected to be operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs.
DWI Law (N.J.S.A. 39: 4-50)
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) are motor vehicle violations in the State of New Jersey. Also known as “drunk driving”, DWI charges are considered to be one of the most serious motor vehicle violations in the state and carries heavy penalties. Penalties for driving while intoxicated vary according to BAC level and how many times you've been caught. New Jersey law allows the courts and the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) to suspend your license (from 3 months to 10 years), charge thousands of dollars in fines, fees and surcharges, requirement of an ignition interlock device, jail time and community service. Work permits or hardship licenses are not available in New Jersey.
Passengers Can Also Be Convicted of a DWI
Did you know that you could be arrested for a DWI even if you are not driving? If you let another person drive your car and you know that that person is drunk, then New Jersey law says that you, too, can be convicted of a DWI. The State has made this law to punish people who put drunk drivers on the road just the same as the drunk drivers themselves. If you choose to have a few drinks, designate a driver or use public transportation like the train to get home alternatively.
We Defend DWI Charges for Locals and Visitors
Carmine R. Villani, Esq. is trained in drug recognition evaluation, standard field sobriety testing and on the Breathalyzer and Alcotest breath testing instrument
If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with a DWI, DUI or Breath Test Refusal in Monmouth or Ocean County, we can help (even if you don't live in the area and were visiting from out of town). Because of the serious nature of this offense, penalties for DWI and related offenses in New Jersey can be severe. If you or a loved one has been charged with driving while intoxicated, contact the lawyers of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. to protect your rights as soon as possible. The attorneys at Villani & DeLuca can be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 732-709-7757. Call today for a free consultation on how to protect your rights.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment