Beach Haven Police Crack Down on Underage Drinking and Fake ID on LBI
Recently, Beach Haven Police Officers and State of New Jersey ABC investigators have been cracking down on underage drinkers frequenting local taverns. If you or someone you know is in need of a NJ Fake ID attorney, we can help. A new type of very convincing NJ fake ID has surfaced in the various towns of Long Beach Island (LBI) and law enforcement officials, prosecutors, and judges are diligently arresting, prosecuting and sentencing individuals possessing these fake IDs. The new type of fake ID seems to be getting past some bar owners, bouncers, and bartenders who are relying on police officers to help them spot the fake IDs in LBI.
Beach Haven and all LBI police officers have written numerous charges this summer so far for possession of fake ID, misrepresentation of age to purchase alcohol and underage drinking. The charge most commonly written falls under the New Jersey Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) laws, a Title 33 offense. More specifically, Long Beach Island Police Officers are writing a N.J.S. 33:1-81 charge to violators. There are a host of offenses published under the statute and penalties can be quite harsh for a conviction. The Title 33 statute makes it a punishable offense to present false identification for the purposes of obtaining alcohol (N.J.S. 33:1-81c). Penalties for a conviction of the Title 33 offense are almost identical to the New Jersey disorderly persons statute of N.J.S. 2C: 21-2.1: “Offenses involving false government documents.” In fact, a provision in the Title 33 statute specifically states that all those convicted under it, “shall be deemed and adjudged to be a disorderly person.” The penalties for a conviction include a mandatory fine of no less than $500.00 and mandatory suspension of your driver's license for 6 months.
In addition to the Fake ID charge, you could also face the disorderly persons offense of underage drinking (N.J.S. 2C: 33-15). A conviction for underage drinking carries a mandatory $500.00 fine and if you are caught consuming that alcohol in a motor vehicle, you could be facing a 6-month driver's license suspension as well. If you are convicted of both the underage drinking offense and the Fake ID offense you are facing at least $1,000.00 in fines plus other court costs and a suspension of your drivers license for 6 months. Losing your license for 6 months can be quite inconvenient. You might be asking yourself how you can get back to college or how you will get to and from work. Quite simply, you will have to either rely on public transportation or others to drive you wherever you need to go.
Beach Haven Borough Municipal Court
300 Engleside Avenue
Beach Haven, New Jersey 08008
Telephone: 609-492-4548; Facsimile: 609-492-4499
Beach Haven Borough Municipal Court Judge
Honorable Adolph Sicheri, J.M.C.
Beach Haven Borough Municipal Court Administrator
Carol R. Miller
Beach Haven Borough Municipal Court sessions are held the 1st Thursday of every month.
Beach Haven Borough Municipal Court Prosecutor
Paul Granick, Esq.
Call Villani & DeLuca Today for Fake ID and Underage Drinking in Beach Haven
It is important to realize that you do have options, and you should NOT plead guilty to any fake ID offense or underage drinking charge. Retain an experienced Long Beach Island criminal defense attorney to defend your charges. Call Partner, Carmine R. Villani, Esq., of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. for a free initial consultation. Mr. Villani has aggressively and successfully represented clients charged with possessing a Fake ID in Beach Haven on Long Beach Island. Call an experienced New Jersey Fake ID attorney at (732) 709-7757 today!
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment