During the summer months at the New Jersey Shore, underage drinking is considered one of the top problems among the community. Even with public education campaigns and strict laws in place to fight teen drinking, it's still a number one concern in Monmouth and Ocean Counties. Underage alcohol laws in New Jersey are taken very seriously, whether it involves underage alcohol possession, consumption, underage drinking and driving, possession of a fake ID or providing alcohol to minors, our Underage Drinking attorneys have the skills and experience to protect the rights for those charged.
Initiative Hits the Shore this Summer
The 2015 Cops in Shops summer shore initiative is dedicated combat underage drinking (2C:33-15) and enforce fake ID laws (2C:21-2.1). Numerous Jersey Shore communities, including Absecon, Avalon, Barnegat Township, Beach Haven, Belmar, Egg Harbor Township, Harvey Cedars, Jackson Township, Lake Como, Lakehurst, Lakewood, Lavallette Boro, Long Beach Township, Lower Township, Manchester Township, Neptune Township, Neptune City, North Wildwood, Ocean Gate, Ocean Township, Point Pleasant Beach, Point Pleasant Boro, Sea Isle City, Seaside Heights, Ship Bottom, Spring Lake Heights, Toms River Township and Wildwood will be participating. Through a “partnership” with liquor retailers, this program offers a unique approach to preventing the illegal purchase of alcohol by underage persons and also targets adults who purchase alcoholic beverages for underage individuals.
Since 1996, the New Jersey Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) has collaborated with the liquor industry resulting in more than 10,000 arrests. According to NJ.gov, specifically, undercover police officers work cooperatively with licensed retailers by posing as employees or patrons in the retail establishments to stop anyone under the age of 21 who attempts to purchase alcohol or use false identification. Cops in Shop is a national program that advertises and educates youth, adults and parents about the legal repercussions of underage drinking through the use of posters, decals, stickers (advertised at point of sale) and newspaper releases.
Underage Drinking: a Disorderly Persons Offense (2C:33-15)
New Jersey underage drinking law makes the possession or consumption of alcohol by persons under 21 a disorderly persons offense, punishable by mandatory fines and completion of an alcohol education or treatment program. In addition, the consequences of underage drinking (N.J.S.A. 2C: 33-15) in New Jersey and DWI convictions (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14) can carry some very harsh penalties and is taken very seriously.
Providing Alcohol to Minors (2C:33-17)
The majority of minors receive the alcohol they drink from family and friends. If an adult in New Jersey is caught serving, offering or buying alcohol for a minor (under the age of 21), he or she could face criminal penalties of up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine for this disorderly persons offense. The liquor store who made the sale of alcohol to an underage purchaser will also be penalized and could have their liquor license suspended.
Choose the Right NJ Underage Drinking Lawyer
Ensure your child's rights are protected and future are fully protected by choosing the right New Jersey Underage Drinking lawyer. At Villani & DeLuca, P.C. our experienced legal team represents individuals in Monmouth County and Ocean County, NJ who are facing criminal charges for alcohol-related charges. We can be reached 24 hours a day and 7 days a week at 732-709-7757. The process is easy, simply start by setting up your free consultation today so we can build a strong defense for your case.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment