A 49-year-old woman pleaded guilty to leaving the scene of an accident in a Monmouth County courtroom. The driver has plead guilty to one count each of leaving the scene of an accident resulting in death and second-degree endangerment, and two counts of third-degree endangerment. The driver turned herself in after originally fleeing the scene where her vehicle struck a 15 year old Atlantic Highlands teen on Route 36 in Middletown. The teen died of her injuries after being transported to Jersey Shore University Medical Center in Neptune. The woman admitted to the hit and run because she had been driving her car without insurance. The woman is facing 7 years of prison for the accident.
New Jersey Drivers Face Criminal Charges and Penalties for Hit and Run Under N.J.S.A. 39:4-129
Drivers involved in vehicular accidents when there is injury or death must wait at the scene for authorities to arrive. Drivers are also required to give assistance to the injured by transporting them to medical treatment or calling for an ambulance. Otherwise, a driver risks being criminally charged. Violators can face fines from $2,500 to $5,000, imprisonment up to 180 days, or both. If convicted violators face losing their driving privileges in New Jersey for one year. Subsequent offenses will result in permanently lost driving privileges in New Jersey.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Injuries or Fatalities
Compound the penalties under N.J.S.A. 39:4-129 with other potential charges, as in the case of the Middletown hit and run accident, and the consequences for the crime continue to increase. If anyone tries to conceal the identity of someone who leaves the scene of an accident they face a fine between $250 and $1,000.
Monmouth County Criminal Defense Attorney
A hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident is an extremely serious charge particularly when an injury or fatality results from the accident. If you have been charged it is important to speak with a criminal defense attorney. At Villani & DeLuca, P.C., we have been representing clients with similar charges since 1996. Call 732-965-3350 today.