Simple Assault Penalties in NJ

Confrontations can happen to even the most mild-mannered people resulting in an assault. When the police arrive on the scene of a fight, it may not matter if your actions were because you were sticking up for one of your friends; many times all parties in the dispute will face an assault charge.
Simple Assault in NJ
Assault crimes are very serious matters, whether they’re considered an aggravated assault or a simple assault, they’re both considered a crime. Unsure what the difference is between simple and aggravated assault? Simple assault, being the least severe, is a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor) in New Jersey. Aggravated assault is committed when a person causes, or attempts to cause, a serious bodily injury or, with the use of a deadly weapon, a non-serious bodily injury results.

Beyond a Reasonable Doubt

Charged with a crime in New Jersey? At Villani & DeLuca P.C., we recognize that everyone is presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. The laws can be confusing, so it’s best to contact an experienced criminal law attorney to review the facts of your assault charge as soon as possible. Call 888-389-9533 for a free legal defense consultation and case evaluation. We aggressively defend all criminal charges and are available to help you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

New Jersey Simple Assault Law (N.J.S.A . 2C:12‑1a)

Simple assault is a disorderly persons offense unless committed in a fight or scuffle entered into by mutual consent, in which case it is a petty disorderly persons offense. While bodily injury is often the result of an assault, the NJ statute states that a person is guilty of simple assault if he/she:
(1) Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(2) Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
Read more about simple assault in our recent post, “Bar Fight Assault Charges: Think Before You Swing.”

Penalties

Simple assaults are typically considered disorderly persons offenses which carry a potential 6 month jail sentence, fines up to $1,000, community service and drivers’ license suspension. In addition, depending on your criminal history (along with the exact nature of the charge), an assault conviction can result in years of mandatory minimum incarceration or probation. These convictions become a part of your permanent record for employers, landlords, and licensing agencies to see. The ability of non-citizens to remain in the country, reenter the country or obtain citizenship can also be seriously affected.

Be Confident In Your Choice of Defense Attorney

Have you or a loved one been arrested and charged with a simple assault crime in New Jersey? Assault charges should not be taken lightly; contact us today for a free initial consultation with one of our criminal defense lawyers. The attorneys at Villani & DeLuca offer free consultations to those charged with simple assault and other criminal charges in Ocean County and Monmouth County and surrounding areas. Call us at 888-389-9533 today!

home-publications