Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Point Pleasant Beach NJ

Qualified Point Pleasant Beach Marijuana Distribution and Possession Defense Attorneys

Marijuana laws in NJ are strict and may result in a variety of penalties and punishments. The state uses its strict drug laws to arraign people for charges like the possession, distribution and growing of weed. Make sure you have a good defense by hiring an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey. NJ criminal defense lawyers will work to protect your rights and protest marijuana-related charges.

Have a Better Understanding of NJ Marijuana Laws

Marijuana is a Controlled Dangerous Substance in NJ, which means that the penalties can be severe. If you have possession of over 50 grams of marijuana on you when you are arrested, it will lead to felony charges.

Possession is one thing, but distribution accusations are even more serious. said illegal drug. An experienced attorney who serves Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey can help you fight your charges if there is any question as to your true intent.

New Jersey Defense Attorneys With a Background Disputing Marijuana Charges

The lawyers of Villani & DeLuca have been disputing marijuana-related charges in NJ since the law firm opened its doors in 1996. Carmine Villani, Esq. is a marijuana possession lawyer with a history in protecting clients who have to deal with accusations of drug charges. He has also served as municipal prosecutor and public defender in New Jersey, giving him a rare advantage when fighting criminal charges.

Marijuana Charges Our Qualified NJ Defense Attorneys Will Fight

{Your pot charges depend on how much marijuana you were in possession of, where your arrest happened and what law enforcement believes you were trying to do with the illegal drugs in your possession.|Marijuana charges can be severe or relatively insignificant depending on the geography of your arrest, the weight of marijuana and if the officer who arrested you and the prosecutor perceives your intentions were (distribution or personal use).

Possession of Marijuana

Marijuana possession in NJ of less than 50 grams can be sentenced with jail terms of as much as 6 months and fines that are as high as $1,000. Possession of marijuana in amounts of more than 50 grams is more serious and can lead to a $25,000 fine and as much as a 1.5 year prison sentence.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Distribute

Penalties for the intent to sell are typically more wide-ranging than penalties for simple possession is in New Jersey. Selling less than an ounce of marijuana is a crime in the fourth degree and may lead to penalties of a mac sentence of 18 months in prison and fines up to $10,000. If you are ruled to be guilty of distributing or the intent to distribute in the first degree, your penalties can be as intense as a twenty-year jail term and a $300,000 fine.

School Zones and Public Parks

All pot-related allegations will be enhanced if the crime takes place in a site labeled by NJ rule as a protected zone. Protected zones are in or near school zones as well as public parks. A school zone legally extends 1,000 feet from designated buildings operated by the school district. Enhanced charges will still take place even if it is not during the school year and no students are present. If you are arrested in a school zone and charged with the intent to sell, a prison sentence of at least three years without the possibility of parole may apply. But, you may still be able to fight your charges, with the help of a marijuana lawyer.

Medical Marijuana

NJ does have a medical marijuana program, but it is very limited in the sense that few people qualify for it. If you are allowed to use medical by another medicinal marijuana program, for example, which does not necessarily entitle you to medical marijuana use in NJ. While certain states have very lenient medical marijuana policies, New Jersey does not. Only serious illnesses can lead to medical marijuana exceptions.

Villani & DeLuca is Here for You All Day, Every Day for Legal Assistance

Get in touch with Villani & DeLuca right now if you are fighting drug charges in Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey. You may also talk to a criminal defense attorney for a free consultation with a phone call to (732) 965-3350.

home-publications