Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Dover NJ

Experienced Dover Marijuana Distribution and Possession Defense Attorneys

A marijuana charge in NJ can be a big problem if it is not handled correctly. New Jersey has strict marijuana laws and penalties for possession and distribution. Although medical marijuana is legal and may be used by particular individuals, the marijuana laws still apply to the bulk of people in New Jersey. If you have been arrested for marijuana possession, your Dover, New Jersey lawyer can assist you through the legal steps.

Understand the Law, Evade Marijuana Charges in New Jersey

Under New Jersey law, marijuana is referred to as a Controlled Dangerous Substance. The amount of marijuana discovered in your possession will dictate the penalties you may receive. If you are in possession of fewer than 50 grams of marijuana at the time of custody, you may be accused of a disorderly persons offense. However, possession of amounts of marijuana more than 50 grams charged as a felony.

Possession is one thing, but distribution accusations are even more serious. An arrest for marijuana possession can turn into attempt to sell depending on the amount in your possession and what law enforcement determines your intentions were. An experienced attorney serving Dover, New Jersey may assist your fight against your charges if there is any inquiry of your intentions.

NJ Defense Attorneys With Experience Fighting Marijuana Charges

With experience disputing drug charges as a criminal defense attorney and defending drug charges as a former prosecutor, Carmine Villani, Esq. will assist you with your marijuana possession or distribution offenses. Villani & DeLuca was established in 1996 and has been disputing weed allegations for clients ever since.

Marijuana Laws in NJ

{The seriousness of the charges that may be filed you in NJ vary depending on the circumstances of your individual case, including the total marijuana found on your person, where the arrest occurred and the intentions perceived by law enforcement and the state.|Marijuana charges may be severe or relatively insignificant depending on where the arrest occurred, the weight of marijuana and if the arresting officer and the prosecutor believes your intentions were (intent to sell or personal use).

Possession of Marijuana

Being found guilty of weed possession of less than 50 grams can end in penalties ofup to half a year months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Possession of marijuana in levels of more than 50 grams is very serious and can lead to a $25,000 fine and as much as a 1.5 year jail term.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Sell Marijuana

All pot distribution allegations are felonies by law in New Jersey with a guilty verdict, but the punishments coupled with these charges vary in seriousness. First degree marijuana distribution charges that end in a conviction are so severe that the person convicted can face twenty years incarceration and hundreds of thousands of dollars in fines.

School Zones and Public Parks

An arrest in a protected zone converts a minimal penalty into a more severe one. Protected zones are in or near school zones as well as public parks. A school zone legally extends 1,000 feet from designated buildings owned by the school district. It can be the middle of summer for a protected zone penalty to affect your charges. If you are arrested in a school zone and charged with distribution or the intent to distribute, a jail term of at least three years without parole may apply. There are allowances to this policy, however, an experienced NJ defense lawyer can claim that the mandatory minimum sentence does not apply.

Medical Marijuana

New Jersey does have a medicinal marijuana program, but it is very limited in the sense that few people qualify for it. If you are permitted to use medical by another medicinal marijuana program, for example, which does not necessarily mean you will be approved by New Jersey. The medical marijuana laws of New Jersey are usually more tough than comparable medical marijuana programs around the country. Only serious conditions can lead to medical marijuana exceptions.

Villani & DeLuca is Here for You All Day, Every Day for Legal Assistance

Were you charged with marijuana possession or intent to sell in Dover, New Jersey? Ask New Jersey marijuana lawyers for legal advice with a free consultation by calling Villani & DeLuca at (732) 965-3350.

home-publications