Charged With Drunk Driving? A NJ DUI Lawyer Can Help
Defending yourself against unjust DWI allegations is paramount. A conviction will induce penalties that you might not be able to afford. A conviction for DWI can lead to penalties like the revocation of your license and big fines. Receive help from an experienced NJ DUI attorney to protect your rights now.
Villani & DeLuca will work to keep you out of a preventable sentence. Lawyers from Villani & DeLuca are qualified to spot improper procedure of law enforcement. A DWI attorney can be a large asset to you while battling DWI charges.
What are the DWI laws in New Jersey?
If police pull you over for possible drunk driving, you may be charged with DUI. Law enforcement is allowed to request a field sobriety test if they have reasonable cause to think that you may be driving drunk. You may also be obligated to take part in a blood alcohol test if a law enforcement official has reason to think you have been drinking. A blood alcohol concentration above 0.08% is considered too drunk to drive and will result in an arrest and charges.
As a partner and founding member of Villani & DeLuca, P.C., Carmine Villani, Esq. has argued DUI/DWI charges in NJ for years. Mr. Villani is a former prosecutor and is now a member of the National College for DWI Defense. Mr. Villani has been trained in specific matters of DWI and DUI in order to build better legal defense strategies for each of his clients.
Trained in Alcotest® and Breathalyzer
Carmine Villani is part of a elite group of DWI lawyers in NJ trained in both the Draeger Alcotest® 7110 and the previously used Breathalyzer. NJ law enforcement has stopped using the traditional Breathalyzer and exclusively uses the Draeger Alcotest® 7110, which is designed to measure blood alcohol percentages more precisely.
Field Sobriety Test Practices
Law enforcement is authorized to use the standardized field sobriety test (SFST) on drivers suspected of drunken driving or of being otherwise impaired. But, the measurements of a field sobriety test is only pertinent if it was correctly conducted.
Drug Recognition Evaluation
If a police officerhas reason to think that a driver is driving under the influence of drugs, he or she will use the drug recognition evaluation (DRE) to prove the suspicion. But,, much like with the standardized field sobriety test, mistakes can be made during an arrest. When these mistakes occur, you need a lawyer familiar with DRE working for you. Villani & DeLuca DUI attorneys are skilled in finding bad results so that they can protect the rights of clients.
How to Challenge Charges With a Lawyer
The penalties linked to DUI are not insignificant. License revocations can last for up to 10 years and fines can reach $1,000 dollars. Bigger DWI fines and penalties occur if you have been previously convicted for driving while intoxicated.
Have you been accused of DWI charges in Union Beach, NJ without grounds for a DWI being correctly established? False BAC levels occur because of various factors. If you think it is possible that you have been falsely charged, hire Villani & DeLuca to begin fighting for you right away.
Breath Test Refusal
New Jersey has an implied consent law, requiring drivers to submit to a breath test if there is suspicion of drunk driving or driving under the influence of illegal substances. If a refusal does take place, you will be charged with breath test refusal and you will lose your license for at least seven months. Drivers who are responsible for refusing a breath test can be subject to tougher penalties than drivers convicted of a DWI with a BAC reading of 0.10% or more.
Were youpulled over and forced to blow into a Breathalyzer without probable cause? It is not legal to force a person to take a breath test if he or she was told to do so without probable cause. You can fight your charges on the grounds that the officer who arrested you never truly tried to prove probable cause.
A police officer in New Jersey can ask you certain questions that you are required to answer like who you are and where you live. But you do not need to reply to other queries at a police DWI road block. A police officer also cannot look through your vehicle without probable cause to do so.
If your DWI charges go to trial, the conduct of the officer who arrested you for drunk driving or driving under the influence of drugs will be a big factor. If you were treated unfairly, your charges might be dropped or reduced.
Contact Villani & DeLuca for a Free Consultation
The law firm of Villani & DeLuca has been assisting defendants facing DWI charges in the municipal court system of New Jersey since 1996. If you or someone you know is being charged with drinking and driving in Union Beach, NJ, contact Villani & DeLuca today. Be aware of the rights afforded to you by the state while fighting DWI and DUI charges. Get help from an attorney who has experience in DUI law.
DWI defense attorneys from Villani & DeLuca are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Call 732-965-3350 today for a free consultation.