Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Spring Lake NJ

Qualified Spring Lake Marijuana Distribution and Possession Defense Lawyers

Breaking marijuana laws in New Jersey can result in substantial consequences depending on the severity of the charge. The state relies on strict drug laws to arraign people for charges like the possession, distribution and growing of marijuana. If you were charged with distribution or any other marijuana-related crimes in the state of New Jersey, you need to prepare your case with the assistance of an experienced law firm serving Spring Lake. NJ pot lawyers will work to defend your rights and fight pot-related charges.

Know the Law, Avoid Marijuana Charges in NJ

Marijuana is a Controlled Dangerous Substance according to NJ, which means that the consequences can be severe. Less than 50 grams is a disorderly persons offense, however a larger amount may warrant felony charges.

If you are arrested in owning marijuana (this can be a smaller amount than 50 grams), charges will frequently go beyond beyond possession. The state will sometimes charge you with the intent to sell, which is treated the equivalent of being caught in the process of actually distributing marijuana. Typically, the intent to distribute is a more severe charge than possession. A Spring Lake criminal defense lawyer can fight to have your distribution allegations lessened to possession.

New Jersey Defense Attorneys With a Background Disputing Marijuana Charges

Since opening in 1996, Villani & DeLuca marijuana possession lawyers have argued for the freedoms of clients disputing drug charges, like marijuana possession and distribution. Partner Carmine Villani, Esq. has been representing clients since 1992 and focuses on defending clients from criminal charges such as possession and distribution of marijuana. He has also worked as as municipal prosecutor and public defender in NJ, giving him a unique advantage when fighting criminal allegations.

Marijuana Laws in NJ

{The seriousness of the accusations that can be filed you in NJ vary depending on the circumstances of your situation, such as the total marijuana found on your person, where the arrest occurred and the intentions perceived by police and the state.|Marijuana charges can be serious or basically minimal depending on the geography of your arrest, the amount of marijuana and if the officer who arrested you and the prosecutor believes your intentions were (distribution or recreational use).

Possession of Marijuana

Your marijuana possession charges in NJ can placeyou in prison for six months with a $1,000 fine, even when the quantity of marijuana is below 50 grams. If your marijuana possession tops 50 grams, you can be charged with with a prison sentence that is up to 18 months and a much bigger fine of $25,000.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Sell Marijuana

Penalties for the intent to sell are usually more extensive than penalties for basic possession would be in NJ. Distribution of only an ounce of marijuana or less will earn a maximum prison sentence of 18 months and a fine as expensive as $10,000 for a guilty plea. A decision that leads to your conviction for distribution in the first degree, you might end up in prison for as much as twenty years with a maximum fine of $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

All pot-related allegations will be enhanced if the crime occurs in a site designated by NJ laws as a protected zone. Protected zones are in or near schools and public parks. A school zone legally extends 1,000 feet from designated buildings owned by the school district. It can be the middle of summer for an arrest in a school zone to affect your charges. Selling marijuana in or near a school is particularly serious. There are allowances to this policy, however, a qualified New Jersey marijuana lawyer can claim that the mandatory minimum sentence does not apply.

Medicinal Marijuana

Medical marijuana is legal in New Jersey, but there are multiple terms and protocols involved with the medical marijuana exception. Even though you might be allowed to use medical marijuana in one state, NJ’s medicinal marijuana program does not accept many illnesses. The medical marijuana laws of NJ are typically more strict than comparable medical marijuana programs around the country. Only serious illnesses can lead to medicinal marijuana exemptions.

Villani & DeLuca is Available 24/7 for Legal Assistance

Contact Villani & DeLuca today if you are fighting drug charges in Spring Lake, NJ. You may also talk to a criminal defense lawyer for a free consultation with a phone call to (732) 965-3350.

home-publications