Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Rumson NJ

Experienced Rumson Marijuana Distribution and Possession Defense Lawyers

If you do not have proper legal help, weed charges will be a big problem. Do not risk a conviction for marijuana possession or distribution. Although medical marijuana is legal and may be used by particular individuals, the marijuana laws still apply to the bulk of citizens in New Jersey. If you were arrested for marijuana possession, your Rumson, New Jersey attorney can assist you through the legal steps.

Have a Better Understanding of NJ Marijuana Laws

According to New Jersey laws, marijuana is classified as a Controlled Dangerous Substance. Charges like possession of a Controlled Dangerous Substance depend upon the quantity of pot discovered at the time of arrest. More than 49 grams of pot may result in a less severe charge such as disorderly persons. But, possession of a weight of marijuana more than 50 grams charged as a felony.

Possession is one thing, but distribution accusations are extremely serious. An arrest for marijuana possession can turn into attempt to sell depending on the amount in your possession and what law enforcement determines your purposes were. Your lawyer will work hard to have your distribution charges in Rumson downgraded to possession or dismissed.

Experienced NJ Drug Possession Attorneys

As a previous municipal prosecutor and public defender, Carmine Villani, Esq. has unique experience for a marijuana criminal defense attorney. Villani & DeLuca opened in 1996 and has been battling weed allegations for clients ever since.

Marijuana Charges Our Experienced New Jersey Defense Attorneys Will Argue

{Your marijuana charges hinge on how much marijuana you had on you, where your arrest took place and what police believe you were attempting to do with the illegal drugs you had on you.|Marijuana charges can be serious or basically minimal depending on the geography of your arrest, the amount of marijuana and what the officer who arrested you and the prosecutor perceives your intent was (intent to sell or personal use).

Possession of Marijuana

Possession of 50 grams or lower of marijuana can give you a prison term of up to six months and a $1,000 fine. In New Jersey, possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana will terminate in an 18-month prison sentence and a maximum fine of $25,000.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Distribute

Marijuana distribution may be a felony, but fines and punishments vary. For instance, a fourth degree charge (less than one ounce) can lead to a fine of up to 10 grand and a jail sentence of up to a year and a half, while charge of the first degree would come with a maximum sentence of twenty years and a fine of up to $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

A protected zone is school property like town-operated buildings and vehicles and public parks. A punishment is enhanced if the arrest took place in a protected zone in NJ. Ask a NJ defense attorney to explain your rights and options if you were charged with distribution of marijuana in a protected zone in Rumson, NJ.

Medicinal Marijuana

A small group of people are permitted to use medical marijuana in NJ. However, New Jersey doesn’t recognize defendants who have been allowed to use medical marijuana by other states. To be approved for medicinal marijuana in New Jersey, you must acquire a doctor’s validation of a serious disease like amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, multiple sclerosis, terminal cancer, muscular dystrophy, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease or a life threatening illness if the physician has determined a prognosis of less than a year of life.

Villani & DeLuca is Available 24/7 for Legal Advice

Were you charged with marijuana possession or distribution in Rumson, NJ? Villani & DeLuca can help. Contact our NJ marijuana criminal defense attorneys for a free consultation at (732) 965-3350.

home-publications