Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Freehold NJ

Experienced Freehold Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyers

If you do not have the right legal help, weed charges will create a big issue. New Jersey has tough pot laws and penalties for possession and distribution. Despite the permitted use of medical marijuana (under very specific and controlled situations), NJ will go after people caught using, selling and growing pot. You need a marijuana defense attorney serving Freehold, New Jersey, if you have been charged for marijuana possession, distribution or the intent to distribute.

Know the Law, Avoid Marijuana Charges in New Jersey

New Jersey classifies marijuana a Schedule 1 Controlled Dangerous Substance. If you have possession of over 50 grams of pot on you when you are taken into custody, it will lead to felony charges.

If you are arrested in possessing marijuana (this can be fewer than 50 grams), charges often go beyond further than simple possession. Even if you were not arrested in the process of selling marijuana, you can be charged with the intent to distribute, which is just as serious. Distribution and the intent to distribute carry much more intense penalties than possession. You need to build a strong defense with an experienced Freehold, NJ marijuana law firm to defend your case.

Experienced NJ Marijuana Possession Attorneys

With experience disputing drug charges as a criminal defense lawyer and securing drug charges as a former prosecutor, Carmine Villani, Esq. can assist you with your marijuana possession or distribution charges. Villani & DeLuca was established in 1996 and has been fighting pot allegations for the accused ever since.

Marijuana Charges Our Experienced NJ Defense Attorneys Will Dispute

{The severity of the accusations that can be brought against you in NJ vary depending on the specifics of your individual case, including the weight of the marijuana found on your person, where the arrest occurred and the intent perceived by police and the state.|Were you arrested with a large quantity of pot in your possession? Based on the circumstances of , including type of drug packaging, presence of drug paraphernalia, and quantities of marijuana, prosecution may decide to charge you with the the intention to sell instead of just possession.

Possession of Marijuana

Being found guilty of pot possession of less than fifty grams can trigger penalties ofup to half a year months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. However, the penalty can be as much as 18 months in jail with a max fine of $25,000, when the amount of pot is more than 50 grams.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Distribute

Distribution is extremely serious charge in NJ. Selling less than one ounce of marijuana is a fourth degree crime and may generate penalties of a maximum sentence of 18 months in jail and $10,000 in fines. If you are found guilty of distributing or the intent to distribute in the first degree, your consequences can be as steep as a twenty-year jail term and a $300,000 fine.

School Zones and Public Parks

Protected zones include school zones, including administrative properties and school vehicles, as well as public parks. A punishment is heightened if the arrest occurred in a protected zone in NJ. Hire a New Jersey criminal defense attorney if you were arrested and charged with marijuana possession or distribution in a Freehold protected zone.

Medicinal Marijuana

New Jersey does have a medical marijuana program, but it is extremely limited in the sense that few people qualify for it. Even though you might be allowed to use medical marijuana in one state, New Jersey’s medical marijuana program does not include many illnesses. The medical marijuana laws of New Jersey are typically more tough than comparable medical marijuana programs throughout the country. Only serious conditions may lead to medicinal marijuana exceptions.

Villani & DeLuca is Here for You All Day, Every Day for Legal Advice

To deal with your marijuana charges in Freehold, New Jersey, contact Villani & DeLuca criminal defense attorneys. You may also talk to a criminal defense attorney for a free consultation with a phone call to (732) 965-3350.

home-publications