Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Farmingdale NJ

Experienced Farmingdale Marijuana Distribution and Possession Defense Lawyers Will Fight for You

A marijuana charge in New Jersey can be a big issue if it is not handled correctly. Do not risk a conviction for pot possession or distribution. Although medical marijuana is allowed and may be used by particular individuals, the marijuana laws still apply to the bulk of citizens in NJ. You need a marijuana defense lawyer serving Farmingdale, NJ, if you have been taken in for marijuana possession, distribution or the intent to distribute.

Have a Better Understanding of NJ Marijuana Charges

Marijuana is called a Controlled Dangerous Substance in NJ. Charges such as possession of a CDS like marijuana are dictated by the weight of pot found on your person at the time of arrest. More than 49 grams of weed can warrant a less strict charge like disorderly persons. But, possession of a weight of marijuana over 50 grams charged as a felony.

Being in possession of large quantities of marijuana will often times end in in charges other than simple possession. this marijuana. An experienced lawyer who serves Farmingdale, NJ can help you fight your charges if there is any question as to your true intent.

New Jersey Defense Attorneys With a Background Disputing Marijuana Charges

As a previous municipal prosecutor and public defender, Carmine Villani, Esq. has uncommon experience for a marijuana criminal defense lawyer. Villani & DeLuca opened in 1996 and has been disputing marijuana charges for the accused ever since.

Marijuana Charges and Penalties Our Qualified NJ Defense Attorneys Will Argue

{The seriousness of the accusations that may be filed you in the state vary depending on the specifics of your individual case, such as the weight of the marijuana found on your person, the location of your arrest and the intentions perceived by law enforcement and the prosecution.|Were you arrested with a large amount of marijuana in your possession? Dependent upon the unique situation surrounding , including type of drug packaging, presence of drug paraphernalia, and quantities of marijuana, prosecution may decide to charge you with the the intention to sell rather than just possession.

Possession of Marijuana

A conviction of marijuana possession of less than 50 grams can end in sentences ofup to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. However, the punishment can be potentially 18 months in jail with a top fine of $25,000, when the volume of pot exceeds 50 grams.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Sell Marijuana

Distribution is a very serious charge in New Jersey. Distribution of only one ounce of marijuana or less may earn a prison time of up to 18 months and a fine that reaches $10,000 for a guilty plea. If you are found guilty of distributing or the intent to sell in the first degree, your consequences can be as intense as a twenty-year jail term and a $300,000 fine.

School Zones and Public Parks

Protected zones include schools, including school buildings and school vehicles, as well as public parks. If you are convicted of marijuana distribution in these protected zones, your punishments might be enhanced according to state law. Enlist the assistance of a NJ criminal defense attorney if you were arrested and charged with marijuana possession or distribution in a Farmingdale protected zone.

Medical Marijuana

If you have been permitted by the state of New Jersey to use medical marijuana, you could be exempted from particular possession charges. However, New Jersey does not recognize patients who have been allowed to use medical marijuana by other state governments. Only severe health conditions or a terminal illness may be accepted as a medical marijuana exemption in NJ.

Villani & DeLuca is Here for You 24/7 for Legal Assistance

Are you currently in a legal struggle over marijuana possession or distribution in Farmingdale, NJ? Villani & DeLuca can help. Contact our NJ marijuana criminal defense attorneys for a free consultation at (732) 965-3350.

home-publications