Marijuana Possession Lawyers in Aberdeen NJ

Qualified Aberdeen Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyers

If you do not have the right legal help, marijuana charges may be a big issue. NJ has tough pot laws and penalties for possession and distribution. Although medical marijuana is allowed and can be used by particular individuals, the pot laws still apply to the majority of people in NJ. You need a marijuana defense attorney serving Aberdeen, NJ, if you have been charged for marijuana possession, distribution or the intent to distribute.

Have a Better Understanding of New Jersey Marijuana Charges

Marijuana is a Controlled Dangerous Substance in New Jersey, which means that the consequences can be severe. If you have possession of over 50 grams of marijuana on your person when you are taken into custody, it will result in felony charges.

Even if you are arrested with a comparatively small amount of pot in your possession, you might still be charged with intention to sell. The state will occasionally charge you with the intent to distribute, which is treated the equivalent of being caught in the act of physically selling marijuana. Distribution and the intent to distribute create much more intense penalties than possession. You should create a quality legal strategy with an experienced Aberdeen, New Jersey marijuana law firm to make sure your charges don’t go beyond possession.

New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys With Experience Disputing Marijuana Charges

With experience fighting drug charges as a criminal defense attorney and securing drug charges as a former prosecutor, Carmine Villani, Esq. will help you with your marijuana possession or distribution offenses. Villani & DeLuca opened in 1996 and has been battling pot charges for clients ever since.

Marijuana Statutes in New Jersey

{The seriousness of the accusations that can be filed you in New Jersey alter depending on the specifics of your individual case, like the total marijuana discovered on your person, where the arrest occurred and the intent perceived by law enforcement and the state.|Marijuana charges may be serious or basically insignificant depending on the geography of your arrest, the weight of marijuana and if the officer who arrested you and the prosecutor perceives your intent was (intent to sell or personal use).

Possession of Marijuana

Possession of 50 grams or lower of marijuana can afford a prison term of up to six months and a $1,000 fine. If your marijuana possession exceeds 50 grams, you can be charged with with a prison sentence that is as much as 18 months along with a much heftier fine of $25,000.

Marijuana Distribution and Intent to Sell Marijuana

Marijuana distribution may be a felony, but fines and punishments depend on a variety of factors. For instance, a fourth degree charge (less than one ounce) can lead to a fine of up to $10,000 and a jail sentence of up to 18 months, while charge of the first degree can require a maximum sentence of twenty years and a max fine of $300,000.

School Zones and Public Parks

A protected zone is school property like town-operated buildings and vehicles and public parks. If you are found guilty of selling marijuana in these protected zones, your punishments might be enhanced according to state law. Ask a New Jersey defense attorney to explain your rights and options if you have been charged with distribution of marijuana in a protected zone in Aberdeen, NJ.

Medicinal Marijuana

If you have been permitted by the state of New Jersey to use medical marijuana, you could be exempted from certain possession charges. But, if you are from another state, do not think that your medical marijuana exemption is accepted in NJ. To get approved for use of medical marijuana in NJ, you need to acquire a doctor’s validation of a serious condition such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, multiple sclerosis, terminal cancer, muscular dystrophy, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease or a terminal illness if the physician has determined a prognosis of less than one year of life.

Villani & DeLuca is Available All Day, Every Day for Legal Assistance

To deal with your marijuana charges in Aberdeen, New Jersey, contact Villani & DeLuca criminal defense attorneys. You can also speak with a Villani & DeLuca defense attorney at (732) 965-3350 for a free legal consultation. Our New Jersey marijuana defense lawyers are here 24 hours a day, each day of the year.

home-publications