New Jersey drug laws are very specific and take drug crimes very seriously. One particular drug that is on the list of Controlled Dangerous Substances (CDS) in New Jersey is LSD. LSD is the acronym for Lysergic Acid Diethylamide. Its street names include Acid, Lucy, Blotter and Stars. Schedule I drugs are considered the worst and most dangerous because they are considered highly addictive, have no acknowledged medical use to treat patients or lack safety even when taken under the supervision of a medical professional. LSD is listed along with drugs such as heroin and Ecstasy as a Schedule I drug. Due to that classification, it is illegal to have, use or sell LSD in New Jersey.
Effects and Dangers of LSD
Depending on the person, the effects of LSD can vary. People might have hallucinations or be confused. They may have a higher heart rate, chills, dilation of the pupils, numbness, difficulty in sleeping and coughing fits after using LSD. LSD is dangerous because certain individuals have experienced schizophrenia, anxiety, depression and other issues that can have long-term consequences. People under the influence of LSD may behave unpredictably and irrationally with impaired judgment and decision-making.
Possible Penalties for Possession of LSD
For possession of LSD in New Jersey, an individual will face a third degree indictable offense with the possibility of significant jail time, fines and penalties. For a first offense, there can be as much as three to five years in prison for possessing LSD. Fines can be as high as $35,000. There may also be a requirement that the defendant take part in a drug rehabilitation program if ordered to do so by a judge.
Depending on the amount a person has on his or her person when arrested for possession of LSD, the charges can grown more serious. If it is believed that the drug was not for personal use and was for distribution and sale, then the individual is facing much harsher penalties that if it was for individual use.
In addition, if a person dies as a result of a drug her or she was given, the person who provided the drug might be subject to a charge of criminal homicide. In the event that the drug was possessed within 1,000 feet of a school property or school bus, was on school property used for school purposes or on a school bus, the individual has violated the law prohibiting drugs in a school zone and faces $150,000 in fines as well as jail time that can reach up to 20 years depending on the charges.
Speak to an Attorney About Your LSD Charge
Have you or a loved one been charged with possession of LSD in Asbury Park, Belmar, Manalapan or any other New Jersey town? If so, it’s imperative that you speak to an experienced attorney at the law firm of Villani & DeLuca in Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey.
Possession or distribution of a Schedule I CDS involves serious penalties including jail time, fines and other potential punishment. It’s wise to have a qualified attorney at your side to defend these charges. Don’t make a bad mistake worse by not hiring an attorney to protect your rights. Call Villani & DeLuca for a free case evaluation today.