Defending GHB Drug Charges in New Jersey

ghb liquidOfficially known as gamma hydroxybutyrate, GHB is known in common vernacular as “the date rape drug”. It is a naturally occurring component that is found in legal substances such as wine as well as in human cells. It is legal to possess it with a valid prescription from a doctor as a sleep aid or for treating pain.

If you hear someone mentioning one of the street names for GHB like “G”, Gamma-OH, Fantasy, Grevious Bodily Harm, Liquid Ecstasy, Scoop, Water, and Everclear it is unlikely they are referring to the legal use of GHB. GHB is usually sold on the streets or in nightclubs and is easy to obtain. This colorless and odorless drug is illegal to posses without a valid prescription. If you are driving a friend to a club and your passenger is found to be in possession during a traffic stop you may face losing your car.

GHB is addictive and habit forming. Once a person has become addicted, the withdrawal symptoms can be very severe. You may not even realize your friend is addicted to GHB and is exposing you to potential arrest on drug charges every time you meet them, have them over your house or let them enter your car. When illegal amounts of the GHB drug is discovered by the police, you should not be surprised if your friend denies it is theirs and instead blames you for it. The penalties for this drug charge are severe and no one wants to have to defend themselves against it.

Charges for Possession of GHB With an Intent to Distribute GHB

If you are charged with distribution, manufacturing or selling GHB, you have committed a crime of the second degree. You can face a prison sentence of five to ten years. You will also be levied with a fine of up to $150,000.

For example, if you visit a nightclub in Asbury Park and are suspected of bringing GHB onto the premises with the intention of selling GHB in the club or to residents, you can be charged with possession and intent to distribute. If you have a friend that is addicted to GHB and has just bought a large supply of it and it is found in your car as you drive him home in Ocean County, you can be charged with GHB possession even though you didn’t know your friend was using you to transport his large amount of GHB.

Charges for Possession of GHB

If you are charged with possession of GHB, you have committed a crime of the third degree. You can face a prison sentence of up to five years and will be charged with a fine of up to $100,000.

For example, if you are at a bar in Toms River or Long Branch and are found with GHB on your person, even if you have not used or distributed it, you can be charged with possession of GHB. If your friend had it and it dropped out of their pocket in your car, you can also be charged with this GHB offense.

GHB Possession is a Serious Charge in NJ

Since GHB is used most commonly as a date rape drug, the sale or possession of this drug is treated very seriously in New Jersey. Nightclubs and bars from Asbury Park to Seaside Heights have seen an increase in the use of this drug in or near their establishments and use of this drug often leads to a situation where rape or attempted rape charges can be brought forth as well.

If you or a loved one has been charged with possession and or distribution of the date rape drug GHB, contact Villani & DeLuca today. We have experience in handling these charges and will work with residents of Ocean County and Monmouth County to ensure the best possible outcome for our clients.

home-publications