How Many Points Will I Get for an Out-of-State Traffic Violation?

Reporting of Out-of-State Traffic Tickets for New Jersey Residents

out-of-state traffic violationIf you are a New Jersey resident, you can still be assessed points for motor vehicle violations in other states, even though your driver’s license is issued by the state of New Jersey.  New Jersey has a Driver License Compact with 45 other states and the District of Columbia, which allows all states under the compact to share license suspension and traffic violation information.  This means that a motor vehicle offense that you commit in New York, for example, can be treated as if you had committed the offense in New Jersey.  Georgia, Michigan, Tennessee, Massachusetts and Wisconsin do not participate in the interstate compact, but that doesn’t mean you’re free to bend the rules within their borders.

Although they are not obligated to report out-of-state convictions, they do choose to report many offenses to the driver’s home state.  In turn, New Jersey also reports most motor vehicle violations within its borders to home states not included in the Nonresident Violator Compact.  Out-of-state moving violations (speeding, driving through a safety zone, failure to yield, etc.) are assessed two points under the NJSA Point Schedule.

Are There Points for All Out-of-State Traffic Violations?

Non-moving violations, such as parking tickets, tinted windows and broken headlights are not points-eligible offenses.  Furthermore, you cannot receive points for an out-of-state offense if an equivalent statute does not exist in New Jersey.  This is critical for DWI or DUI violations, which do not result in license points in New Jersey, although they do in states such as New York and Pennsylvania.  However, you will be assessed insurance eligibility points, which will significantly raise your auto insurance rates.  In addition, you will be sentenced to all the standard penalties under New Jersey law, which includes licenses suspension, fines and surcharges, mandatory participation in an IDRC and possible jail time.

To find out how many points your out of state motor vehicle violation would accrue if it were committed in New Jersey, see our NJ Traffic Violations by Points chart.

Removing Points on Your NJ License

If you accrue 6 or more points within 3 years of a prior offense, New Jersey imposes a surcharge of $150, plus $25 for each additional point.  The State will completely suspend your driving privileges once you have 12 or more points.  There are also specific offenses (expired license, driving with a suspended license, operating an uninsured vehicle, etc.) which will require you to pay a surcharge on an annual basis for three years.  With such serious consequences, it is worth taking steps to have points deducted from your license.  By taking a state-approved defensive driving course, you can have 2 points removed from your license and receive a discount of up to 10% on your car insurance for up to 3 years.  You will also have 3 points removed after one year with no subsequent violations.

Charged with an Out-of-State Traffic Violation?

If you have been charged with an out-of-state motor vehicle violation and you need advice from a local New Jersey traffic lawyer, call our office today.  In addition to license points, you may be facing serious penalties such as fines, license suspension and even jail time.  The DWI and traffic attorneys of Villani & DeLuca can help you understand the ramifications of your offense, and the best defense option for resolving your charges.  Please call (732) 965-3350 for your free consultation with one of our NJ motor vehicle lawyers!

home-publications