DWIs and the Fourth of July in New Jersey

DWIs and the Fourth of July in New JerseySobering Facts Every Driver Needs to Know

July 4th is a favorite time of celebration for many Americans enjoying backyard BBQ’s with family and Jersey shore parties with friends. Unfortunately, Independence Day holiday is one of the deadliest holidays of the year due to drunk-driving crashes. So, celebrate the fourth of July responsibly with friends watching a fireworks show by the shore and remember to plan ahead with a designated driver if you’re going to be drinking.

Drunk Driving is a Preventable Problem: Know the Facts

  • According to data from NHTSA, during July 4th holiday from 2009 to 2013, 750 people lost their lives in crashes involving drivers with a BAC of .08 or more (21% had BACs of .15 or higher—almost twice the legal limit).
  • This Fourth of July, law enforcement at the Jersey shore is taking part in a crackdown to put an end to drunk driving. The “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” campaign will mean increased enforcement with zero tolerance for those who drive impaired.
  • Throughout New Jersey, drivers should expect to see the police out in force, cracking down on drunk driving through increased sobriety checkpoints, roving and saturation patrols, and other enforcement efforts.

Know the Laws

  • New Jersey is a zero-tolerance state. A person is considered to be driving while intoxicated (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50) who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above.
  • Driving under the influence (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)) refers to a person who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of narcotics, hallucinogenics, CDC or any other habit-producing drugs.
  • An underage driver under the influence (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14) covers drivers that are under the legal drinking age (21 years old) that are driving while intoxicated.

Make a Plan to Get Home Safely This Fourth of July

Plan ahead for a safe way home before the celebrations begin by designating a sober driver. If you’re impaired, call a taxi, use public transportation or call a family member to get home safely. If you drive drunk, you not only put your life and the lives of others at risk, you could face a DWI arrest. The average DWI costs $10,000, making it difficult to recover financially plus you could face jail time and loss of your driver’s license.

Keep these facts in mind for a safe and happy Fourth of July and if you do happen to get pulled over for drunken driving in New Jersey, contact the DWI lawyers at Villani & DeLuca P.C. at 888-389-9533 for your complimentary consultation.

home-publications