Point Pleasant DWI Lawyer

Point Pleasant DWI LawyerJust minutes away from the attractions of Jenkinson’s Boardwalk, the borough of Point Pleasant is a thriving community of approximately 19,000 residents.  Point Pleasant contains 78.04 miles of roadways, including state highways such as Route 13, Route 88 and Route 35.  Traffic is especially heavy on Route 35, which takes motorists straight into Point Pleasant Beach.  Motor vehicle violations are frequent in this area, especially DWI’s, DUI’s and refusals.  It may surprise some people to know that New Jersey classifies DWI’s as motor vehicle offenses, as opposed to criminal offenses like some other states.  This means that a DWI conviction will not result in a criminal record, although it will remain permanently on your driver history abstract.

Penalties are Serious for a Point Pleasant DWI

However, you should not underestimate the seriousness of a drunk-driving offense, against which the New Jersey Courts system has a zero tolerance policy, regardless of your age or personal circumstances.  After all, alcohol is the reason behind approximately 30% of all motor vehicle fatalities in New Jersey.  As such, penalties for even a first-time refusal offense — the refusing of breathalyzer testing — include the loss of your driver’s license for up to one year and the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.  Furthermore, conditions under John’s Law may place your loved ones under liability should you be released into their custody.  Under John’s Law, Point Pleasant Police have the right to impound your vehicle for up to 12 hours following a DWI arrest.  The vehicle can only be released before 12 hours if the person taking custody of you assumes liability for your actions should you choose to drive within that same day.

Call Our Team of Point Pleasant DWI Lawyers

It is imperative that you fight your charges with assistance from an experienced DWI attorney.  The most qualified attorneys should have extensive trial experience, preferably in both the prosecution and defense of DWI cases.  In addition, they should be trained in all the testing methods that are used by the police to gauge your level of sobriety.  This training qualifies them to verify whether or not your field sobriety and breath tests were administered correctly, which is the cornerstone of the prosecution’s case against you.  For example, New Jersey police use a device known as the Alcotest 7110 MKIII-C in order to obtain a reading of your BAC (blood alcohol concentration).  Although the Alcotest 7110 is extremely accurate, it is a relatively new technology with complex operating procedures.  It is not uncommon for arresting officers to administer the test incorrectly, thereby obtaining questionable results.  Such factors are often challenged in court by knowledgeable attorneys, resulting in a reduction or elimination of their client’s charges.

Partner Carmine R. Villani, Esq. of Villani & DeLuca has the full range of experience and training you need in order to fight your charges.  First and foremost, Mr. Villani has over 20 years of experience as both municipal prosecutor and public defender for various municipalities in Ocean and Monmouth Counties.  In addition, he has received training in SFST (Standard Field Sobriety Testing) methods, and the proper administration of the Alcotest 7110 directly from the manufacturer.  He will also discuss all your possible defense options, such as the use of expert witnesses who can further analyze your test results through independent chemical testing.  Mr. Villani looks forward to discussing your rights and options during a free, no-obligation consultation. Call (732) 965-3350 today to speak to an experienced Point Pleasant DWI lawyer!

home-publications