Mantoloking Lawyer

First-Time DWI in Mantoloking

gavel legal scalesDriving while intoxicated (DWI) is taken very seriously in the state of New Jersey and, even with a first offense, the penalties are severe.  Your penalties for a first offense of DWI will be based upon your blood alcohol content (BAC) as determined by a breath test.  If you are convicted of DWI for the first time and your BAC is greater than 0.08% but less that 0.10%, you will be subject to the loss of your license for three months, a fine of up to $400, 12 to 48 hours of detainment and/or counseling prescribed by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), up to 30 days in jail, the installation of an ignition interlock device at the court’s discretion and other fines and penalties.

If it is your first DWI offense and your BAC is at least 0.10% but less than 0.15%, you will be subject to penalties that include the loss of your license from 7 months to one year, a fine of up to $500, 12 to 48 hours of detainment and/or counseling as prescribed by the IDRC, up to 30 days in jail, the installation of an ignition interlock device at the court’s discretion, and other fines and penalties.

If it is your fist DWI offense and your BAC is 0.15% or higher, you will be subject to penalties that include the loss of your license from 7 months to one year, a fine of up to $500, 12 to 48 hours of detainment and/or counseling as prescribed by the IDRC, up to 30 days in jail, the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device and other fines and penalties.  Regardless of your BAC, if you are charged with DWI you should contact a DWI defense attorney experienced in the Mantoloking Municipal Court by calling Villani & DeLuca at 732-965-3350 for a free consultation.

First-Time Drug Possession Charge in Mantoloking

The charge of drug possession involves the act of purposely or knowingly possessing an illegal drug classified as a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) or a controlled substance analog in New Jersey.  A “controlled substance analog” is a substance which has a chemical structure substantially similar to that of a controlled dangerous substance and was specifically designed to produce an effect substantially similar to that of a controlled substance.  To obtain a guilty verdict for a drug possession charge in New Jersey, the prosecutor is required to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant possessed or obtained a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog in a knowing or purposeful manner.

One way to try to avoid a conviction for drug possession in New Jersey is by establishing that you did not have possession, in either an actual or constructive way, of the CDS in question.  Additionally, a defendant can prove lawful possession over a controlled dangerous substance if he or she can show that it was a medication prescribed to him or her by a physician or other professional practitioner.  As with other drug crimes in New Jersey, the penalties for drug possession vary depending on the category of drugs involved and the amount of drugs one possesses.  If you have been charged with drug possession in Mantoloking, the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Villani & DeLuca can assist you in your defense.  Call 732-965-3350 today for a free consultation.

Reporting Domestic Violence in Mantoloking

Domestic violence is a serious matter, and committing it or being accused of it can result in life changing consequences, whether in the form of a criminal prosecution or having a restraining order entered against you (which usually comes along with the criminal prosecution).  Domestic violence cases can be difficult to prove, since often there are no witnesses to the alleged abuse. Such cases often come down to a ‘he said, she said’ contest, with the court ultimately siding with the party that the court views as more believable.  If you have been charged with domestic violence, or even if you have been the victim of domestic violence, you should immediately seek the advice of an experienced DV attorney by calling Villani & DeLuca at 732-965-3350 for a free consultation.

Experienced Mantoloking Attorneys

The law firm of Villani & DeLuca represents clients throughout Monmouth and Ocean Counties.  Our attorneys have a wide range of experience in the practice areas of criminal defense, family law and DWI.  If you need an attorney to assist you in a criminal matter, a Mantoloking divorce or if you need a defense for a DWI charge, you should contact an experienced Mantoloking attorney at Villani & DeLuca by calling 732-965-3350.

home-publications