Repercussions for Reducing the Drinking Age In NJ

underage drinking and driving,

A debate over the legal drinking age has commenced since its change in the 1980s. Most opponents to the law cited that at the age of 18 a person could vote or join the military but can’t have a beer. This seems like a logical justification for lowering the age, but there may be consequences to such an action. The debate was recently revisited again in New Jersey about lowering the drinking age to 18 from 21.

New Jersey Laws and Drinking Age

State assemblyman Michael Patrick Carroll (R-Morris) recently introduced legislation asking to lower the drinking age back to 18. The greatest supports to the bill are those under the age of 21 but those over the drinking age are questioning such a move. It was believed that when every state across the nation increased their drinking age to 21 the results would decrease drunk driving deaths of young adults. Even with the increased drinking age, there were still 2,163 teens killed in drunk driving crashes in 2013 according to the CDC. Alcohol and driving are a deadly mix for teens who are inexperienced at driving as well as being unable to gauge their alcohol intake.

Strict NJ Laws Regarding Underage Drinking and Driving

In New Jersey, there is zero tolerance for underage drinking and driving. Anyone under the age of 21 with a BAC as low as .01% will be subjected to a DUI. If convicted, the penalties include 30 to 90 days suspended license, fines, penalties, fees, alcohol education classes, and highway safety program at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in addition to 15 to 30 hours of community service. If the teen is unlicensed and under 17 years of age at the time of the DUI charge they will be subjected to a 30–90 day delay in the process of obtaining their driver license.

The debate of whether or not those who are legally considered “adults” should be allowed to drink and partake in alcoholic beverages will likely not go away anytime soon. Although there are legitimate arguments for each side, it’s important to look at what the best measure for our residents might be, no matter their age.

DWI Defense Attorney In Ocean County

If you or a loved one are under 21 and have been charged with DWI in Long Branch, Red Bank, Toms River or Brick, it is important that you seek legal representation. Contact the attorneys of Villani & DeLuca at 732-965-3350 to discuss a pending DWI charge.

home-publications